Looney Rules Franklin County

Mike Loony won Monday's late model feature at Virginia's Franklin County Speedway.
Mike Loony won Monday's late model feature at Virginia's Franklin County Speedway.
Mike Loony won Monday’s late model feature at Virginia’s Franklin County Speedway.

CALLAWAY, Va. — Mike Looney finally overcame the bad luck that’s plagued his 2014 season on Monday night and overcame it in style — with a victory in the Wheat Construction Memorial Day Bash at Franklin County Speedway.

Looney took the lead from Johnny Cash with 38 laps to go and never looked back.

“You can’t put this in to words after the year that we’ve had,” Looney said. “Billy Martin, my car owner, he’s worked his guts out on this car to try to get the problems fixed. I don’t know how many thousands he’s fixed so I can start driving and get it right. I really appreciate it. It’s frustrating to come over and have a car this fast but can’t finish. We fell out of the lead twice this year and was running second the other time we fell out. The car’s sitting here in victory lane broke right now. The track bar broke on the last lap apparently. Lady Luck, she missed us by one lap tonight. I have to attribute that to the Lord’s will to win, it’s going to happen. I’ve been really blessed in my career and blessed to have the opportunity to drive this car.”

Johnny Cash surrendered the lead to Looney with 38 laps to go after inheriting the lead when Kyle Dudley dropped out of the race with a broken rear-end panhard rod.

“That car and a half I pulled down the straightaway, that’s fun when you’re stomping on and push 500 horsepower,” Cash said. “I have to thank everyone who puts this car together, all I do is get in it and ride.”

Daryn Cockram, who set the fastest time in qualifying, rebounded from an early race spin and went on to finish third after starting in fifth due to an invert.

Rounding out the top 10 were Brian Sutphin, Brian Pembleton, Nathan Wheat, Bobby Griffin, Libby Privette, Rusty Gaspard and Kyle Dudley.

Josh Nichols qualified on the pole and led every single lap en route to victory in the second Moonshine Modifieds feature of the season. Nichols held off Lauren Edgerton and Joe Scarbrough for the win.

Robert Gibson scored his first career victory in another thrilling race for the Mini-Cup division.

Brittany Cockram put on a clinic in the Mod-4 division en route to her fourth win of the season and her third consecutive victory.

Patrick Janney should have won twice on Saturday night in the U-CAR division but one of his tires fell off while he was leading twice in twin U-CAR features. Janney got his redemption two days later when he scored the victory in the U-CAR feature.

J.C. Morgan took the lead from Andrew Amos in the closing laps of the Street ModZ feature to score the victory over Amos and Todd Arrington. In the Street Stock feature, Danny Bush took the lead from Ricky Riddle on lap four and never looked back en route to his fourth win of the season.