Lincoln Battles To Godown & Ott


ABBOTTSTOWN, Pa. — Thousands circled the battlefield, and at the end of “The Battle of Lincoln Ryan Godown won the Pioneer Pole Building Race of Champions 60-lap modified feature, as Aaron Ott topped the 25-lap MACH 1 358/360 Sprint Challenge presented by NAPA Auto Parts, the Lincoln Speedway was buzzing with excitement as the modifieds returned to the historic red clay in the “pigeon hills” for the first time in 25 years.

Starting from the pole, Decker set a blistering pace from the drop of the green flag. Duane Howard and Jeff Strunk were hot in the chase with Matt Sheppard just off the pace.

With 10 laps in the books, Decker, Howard, Billy Pauch, Jr., Ryan Godown and Craig VonDohren made up the top five.

Duane Howard offered Decker the first serious threat on lap 23 of the three-eighths-mile oval. With the leaders approaching lapped traffic, a battle for the lead was forming. Then on lap 25, the yellow was displayed for Brett Hearn. On the restart, Howard again began to challenge Decker.

Danny Johnson, after starting 17th was on a mission and advanced to fifth on lap 30. As the race wore on, lapped cars were going to be a challenge for the leaders. On lap 40, Howard caught Decker and this battle was definitely underway.

Exiting turn two on lap 46, Decker tagged a lapped car with Howard making hard contact with Decker. Howard and Decker locked bumpers and the yellow was displayed with Decker turned around on the backstretch.

Godown inherited the lead with VonDohren in second.

For the final ten laps Godown had the lead covered as the final caution of the race was displayed on lap 53 for Colt Harris.

As the final laps ticked off, there were no challenges left to offer Godown and took the win and the $5,000 paycheck. Danny Johnson finished second and earned an additional $300 as the Hard Charger. Making up the top five were Matt Sheppard, Stewart Friesen and Pat Ward.

In the MACH 1 358/360 Sprint Challenge the feature was a thriller. Curt Michael was the polesitter with Lance Dewease on the outside front row. Dewease took the lead with Michael in the chase and Pat Cannon third.

On lap 10, Michael challenged Dewease for the lead. Lapped traffic was making the race interesting and third-place runner Pat Cannon was now on the leaders.

On lap 12, Dewease, Michael and Cannon were racing under a blanket for the lead. The caution was displayed on lap thirteen for Mike Bittinger who spun.

When green flag racing resumed, Dewease set the pace with Cannon now challenging for the lead was Curt Michael now in a battle with Aaron Ott. Dewease and Cannon were again in a side-by-side fight on lap 16.

One lap later, Aaron Ott passed Curt Michael for third and set his sights on the leaders.

Ott slipped past Cannon for second on lap 22. Dewease led the next lap with Ott close in the chase. With the white flag waving, Ott took the lead but Dewease set up one more run for the win. Ott kept the high groove as Dewease tried the bottom line off of turn four.

Ott took the win with Dewease second, ahead of Pat Cannon, Logan Schurhart and Curt Michael.

The finishes:

Modifieds: Ryan Godown, Danny Johnson, Matt Sheppard, Stewart Friesen, Pat Ward, Craig VonDohren, Jeff Strunk, Jimmy Horton, MeMe DeSantis, Kevin Hirthler, Ryan Watt, Billy Decker, Larry Wight, Michael Weinart, Butch Tittle, Mike Nicholas, Billy Pauch, Jr., Bobby Varin, Colt Harris, Duane Howard, Frank Cozze, Jr., Brett Hearn, Larry Solomon, Tommy Sheetz, Jr., Rusty Smith.

Sprint Cars: Aaron Ott, Lance Dewease, Pat Cannon, Logan Schurhart, Curt Michael, Mark Smith, Niki Young, Jason Clauss, Gerard McIntyre, Jr., Bryn Gohn, Chad Trout, Dave Ely, Rory Janney, Steve Storrie, Glendon Forsythe, Nathan Berwanger, Jay Galloway, Mike Bittinger, Logan Wagner, Kevin Ward, Jr., Kevin Nagy, Tim Wageman, Kevin Nouse, Jeff Rohrbough.


Previous articleCrockett Cruises At Coos Bay
Next articleBabb Still Streaking At Brownstown is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.