Laubach Breaks Through At Grandview


BECHTELSVILLE, Pa. – Following a torrid battle with John Willman, Rick Laubach piloted the Gary Hermann-owned Blinderman sponsored 358 Modified to victory Saturday at Grandview Speedway.

Laubach took the lead on the 24th lap of the 30-lap Modified feature, coming from 12th starting spot, and went on to chalk up his first Saturday night feature victory.

John Willman led the Modified feature for one lap before Richie Hitzler, a rookie, merged into first.

Jockeying for positions behind Hitzler were Willman, Ray Swinehart, Dylan Swinehart and Frank Cozze.

A homestretch tangle on the 11th lap between Justin Grim and Glenn Strunk regrouped the field as the yellow came out. The restart was void following a chain reaction tangle in the fourth turn. Hitzler continued to show the way when action resumed, but now second through fifth was comprised of Willman, Swinehart, Laubach and Cozze.

Willman was back in the top spot by the 14th lap and three laps later Laubach was in pursuit.

A three-way battle for third between Swinehart, Duane Howard and Cozze ensued ahead of Willman and Laubach.

In no time Laubach, in the Teo chassis mount, reeled in Willman and passed him for the lead on the 24th circuit.

Ryan Grim and Briggs Danner set up a one-lap shoot out to the checkered when they tangled in the second turn. Laubach wasted no time pulling away when the race went green again as he was determined to be in the winner’s circle at the conclusion.

That’s exactly where he was earning a well-deserved triumph trailed by Willman, for the second week in a row; Howard, current point leader and last week’s feature winner came from 14th starting spot to gain fourth followed by Craig Von Dohren.

Rookie Parker Guldin made a clean sweep of the TP Truck Equipment Sportsman activities. First he won his qualifying event and topped the night off with his second 25-lap feature victory. Once again he picked up an extra $100 for being the highest finishing crate engine powered Sportsman.

In the 20-lap Blast From The Past feature, Brett Peters won the Modified portion while Wes Cassel was the winner in the Vintage class.