Lapped Traffic Can’t Slow Sneeringer


HANOVER, Pa. – Isaac Sneeringer used lapped traffic to perfection in claiming his third win of the year in the 25-lap 358 sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“It was the lapped traffic that won me the race,” said Sneeringer. “I saw Brad on the inside of turn four and knew I had to go to the top in turn one and two. I had to drive around the lapped cars or take it out of the park.”

Sneeringer started on the pole and led every lap, but withstood serious challenges from points leader Brad McClelland, who started 11th and took the runner-up spot from outside front row starter Dwight Leppo in turn two of lap 11.

McClelland closed quickly on the leader, and the two raced wheel-to-wheel as they entered lapped traffic on lap 15. On lap 17, McClelland drove to the low side in turn four and attempted to make the pass with the lapped cars of Wyatt Hinkle and Cody Fairchok in between. The four cars raced in a pack as they crossed under the flagstand, and Sneeringer took to the top to get around the two lapped cars in turns one and two.

McClelland lost momentum trying to drive under Hinkle and Fairchok, and lost several carlengths.

A spinning Danny Massey on lap 24 set up a dramatic one-lap shootout at the end, but Sneeringer had enough to score his third Trail-Way win of the year.

“It’s always a good win when the 6R is in the field,” said Sneeringer.

Leppo, rookie Tyler Buchenauer, and Seth Kearchner completed the top five. Heats for the 17 358 sprinters were won by Leppo, Sneeringer, and Cody Fletcher.

Lucas Montgomery came from fourth starting spot to claim his second straight Trail-Way win in the 20-lap Central PA Legends feature.

Polesitter Chris McKinney led the first ten laps before giving way to Bill Diehl. Montgomery caught Diehl on lap 13, but could never shake Diehl, who finished a close second.

Chris Spidle, Bob Stough, and McKinney completed the top five. Qualifiers for the 14 Legends were won by Stough and Montgomery.

Kenny Startzman won his second of the year and second of his career in the 15-lap limited stock feature. His two wins are his only two top-five finishes of the year.

Startzman started fourth, withstood a first-lap caution for polesitter Wes Kellison, and had the lead by the end of the first lap. He led the rest of the way, holding off a charging Matt Chronister (who started 12th), with Cody Klinedinst, Mike Wolf, and Tom Senseney rounding out the top five.

Heats for the 22 limited stocks were won by Shane Miller, Kellison, and Robert Nicklow.

Dan Furman came from last to first in scoring his fifth win of the year in the 20-lap street stock feature. Furman started tenth and snatched the lead from sixth-starting Jeremy Stremmel on lap 12.

Polesitter Todd Miller led the first four laps before he was caught by Stremmel. Furman followed Stremmel around Miller for second at the same time and chased the #8 car for seven laps before making the race-winning pass on the backstretch.

Miller hung on for third, with Chad Stine and Larry Landis completing the top five. The lone qualifier for the street stocks was won by Kelly Seal.

Previous articleLong Family Shines At Luxemburg
Next articleO’LEARY: Hoosier Pit Pass is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.