Krause Rules Spooky Wall Modified Romp


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. – After fighting through tough fortunes during the regular season, Andrew Krause fought off the competition to win the 75-lap All American Auto Group Modified feature Saturday at Wall Stadium Speedway.

The victory in the Spooky Spectacular racing program’s main event was Krause’s first of the campaign.

Adam LaCicero was the first leader of the event before Eric Mauriello took command on lap 10 with an outside lane pass. Krause, who had lined up sixth at the outset, also took the high road two laps later to race into second spot and chase Mauriello.

The duo then wrestled, often times in side-by-side fashion, towards the halfway point of the test before Krause drove to the high side of a sliding Mauriello to take the lead near lap 25. The duo then continued their fight past the halfway mark as Derek Hopkinson ran a tight third.

Just past the halfway point officials asked Mauriello to go to the rear of the pack because they felt that Mauriello had been warned about jumping on restarts too many times. This gave Hopkinson the chance to go after Krause and he took the lead with just over 25 laps remaining.

Krause and Hopkinson then battled side-by-side after a lap 66 caution before Krause slipped back into the lead and raced on to the win in the 75 lap test. Hopkinson, Eddie McCarthy, who was in contention most of the way, Mauriello and Chris Andretta wrapped up the top five.

“That was a real workout,” Krause said after the win. “I really have to thank my family and the crew for all the support they give me and the race team. Thanks to all of them we always come to the track with a car that is capable of winning.”

Bryan O’Shea continued his break through season with his sixth win of the campaign in the 50-lapper for the O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Stocks. Newly crowned champion Elliot Wohl was the runner-up, while invader Rob McCormick, early leader Scott Riggleman and Kevin Flores wrapped up the top five.

Newly crowned Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder Stock champ Neil Rutt III topped the 25-lap main event in convincing fashion over Ronnie Mullen, Jeffrey Loesch, Sal Liguori and Todd Dige.

Young racer Mason Magee grabbed his third win of the season in the 25-lapper for the Green Flag Driving Experience Legends cars. Jim Sylvester, Quinn Trimmer, Mike Benton and Art Marrero were second through fifth.