Knaub Scores At Susquehanna


NEWBERRYTOWN, Pa. – Gene Knaub won the 50-lap Late Model feature event presented by Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Saturday night.

This makes it the third straight year that Knaub has won the event. Paul Miller claimed the Super Sportsman victory when Steve Fannasy came up light at the scales and was penalized. Bill Brown Sr. won the Classic Car feature as well on Saturday night.

Pole sitter, Gene Knaub grabbed the lead from the start with Jake Jones falling into the runner-up spot. On lap 12 Grant Adams passes Jones for the second place position, setting Knaub in his sights. Adams continued to pursue Knaub as he had many chances to close in on the rear bumper of Knaub due to the numerous caution flags throughout the event.

However, Adams retired from the event with 38 laps completed, handing the runner-up spot to Travis Mease. Mease could not catch Knaub as he went on the claim his third Susquehanna Showdown 50-lapper in as many years. Mease settled for second, followed by Sam Galloway, Justin Ehrhart and Ben Whitaker. Ben Whitake won the “Hard Charger Award” by picking up 16 positions to finish 5th from a 21st place starting spot. Michael Goodwin won the B-Main event for the Late Models.

Steve Fannasy led the final 20 laps of the Super Sportsman 25 laps feature event, but was disqualified at the scales for being too light and thus placed to the rear of the lead finishing lap per Sportsman officials. This gave the win to Paul Miller who trailed Fannasy the entire race but could not make the winning move on the track.

After post-race inspection, Scott Dellinger finished second, followed by Doug Dodson, Frankie Herr and Scott Geesey. Herr also claimed the 2012 Super Sportsman Tour championship with his on-track performance than Russ Mitten. Heat race wins went to Ryan Slothower, Jim Shuster and Dodson. Frankie Herr won the consolation race.

Bill Brown Sr. started on the pole and led all 20 laps as he was never challenged to win the Classic Car feature. Joe Snodgrass finished second with Pete Neal in third. Neal Reamer and Steve Cantwell rounded out the top five. Brown and Brandon Little won their respective heat races.