Kearchner Finally Wins One At Trail-Way


HANOVER, Pa. – Seth Kearchner finally broke through for his first career 358 sprint car victory Friday night at Trail-Way Speedway.

“Finally. Finally,” Kearchner said. “I’ve learned through the years to run my own pace. Tonight I ran at my own pace.”

Kearchner’s pace was quick enough to dominate the race. The Fairfield driver started on the pole and led every lap, while several big guns in the field had their troubles.

Trail-way points leader Brad McClelland started 12th and advanced through the field to sixth before getting involved in a three-car spin into the infield off the back stretch of lap 14. Dwight Leppo (who was running fifth) and the lapped car of Wyatt Hinkle were also involved, and all three were able to restart at the rear. McClelland changed a flat tire and came through the field to earn a hard charger sixth place finish.

Three-time winner Isaac Sneeringer was scheduled to start on the front row but had to go to the rear after diving in the pits before the start to connect a loose wire. He came back through the field to finish fifth.

Invader Kevin Nouse started third and finished there, with Robbie Kendall starting fourth and finishing second.

“It’s really special when you win a race with McClelland, Kendall, Sneeringer, and Nouse in the field,” said Kearchner, “This is something. I haven’t even won a heat race this year.”

Jeff Halligan finished fourth.

Heats for the 13 358 sprinters were won by Randy Whisler and Kendall.

Cody Fletcher was uninjured in a spectacular flip in turn one of his qualifying event, and was unable to start the feature.

Bill Diehl was the winner of the 20-lap Central PA Legends feature. Diehl started third and took the lead from Bob Stough on lap 13. He led the rest of the way, with ninth-starting Scott Houdeshall catching Stough for second with one lap to go. Stough settled for third, with Lucas Montgomery and Bill Foster completing the top five.

Heats for the 13 Legends were won by Stough and Chris Transeau.

Michael Goodwin came from sixth starting spot to win his second Trail-Way race of the year in the street stock division. Goodwin took the lead from Joey Harrison on lap two and dominated the rest of the way, crossing six seconds ahead of Dan Furman, who ran the second half of the race with a right front tire going down.

Chad Stine, David Johnson, and Kelly Seal completed the top five.

The race saw the return of Craig Wagaman, who dropped out with a flat tire on lap two, returned to action after making a quick tire change, and then stopping in a plume of steam on turn four of lap 11, ending his night.

Heats for the 11 street stocks were won by Wagaman and Todd Miller.

Points leader Matt Chronister raced to his sixth win of the year in the 15-lap limited stock feature.

Chronister started ninth and took the lead from front row starter Aaron Levin on lap six. He led the rest of the way despite heavy late-race pressure from 11th-starting Cory Weishaar, who actually came from the back after a front stretch spin on lap three.

Tom Senseney (who started 14th), 13th-starting Wesley Kellison, and 12th-starting Shane Miller rounded out the top five.

Heats for the 20 limited stocks were won by Weishaar and Levin.

Previous articleWOO: River Cities Speedway
Next articleSchultz Is The Man At Wilmot is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.