Johnson Banks $5,000 At Langley


HAMPTON, Va. — Longtime late model standout Eddie Johnson took the lead for good on lap 84 and rolled to a $5,000 victory in the Sysco Mid-Atlantic Modified Madness 100 for the Modifieds, the featured event of Saturday evening’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

Johnson qualified on the pole, at 90.544 mph, and led the opening lap before ceding the top spot to Jimmy Humblet on lap two.

While Johnson drifted back just outside the top five, Humblet, Shawn Balluzzo, Mike Rudy and Robbie Babb took turns at the head of the field.

Soon after the final restart, at lap 65, Babb and Johnson emerged in first and second. Working traffic, Johnson nosed ahead for the first time on lap 74, only to have Babb return the favor on the ensuing circuit.

On lap 84, lapped traffic came into play again and, once more, Johnson took advantage, moving out front.

By the finish, Johnson had stretched his winning margin to nearly half a straightaway over Babb, the 2013 division champ. Cale Gale was third, while Humblet and Rudy completed the top five.

Randy Akers picked up his fourth victory with a flag-to-flag run in the 40-lap Butterfoss & Barton Orthodontics Super Street feature. Bill Eaker was second, half a length behind, followed by John Pereira, Landon Abbott and Sean Calway. Calway’s fifth-place result was enough to give him the 2013 champoinship by a single point over Pereira.

Pro Six champ Landon Florian led from pole to checkers to win the 25-lap season finale for the Carroll’s Automotive UCARs. Florian was the 2011 UCAR titlist. Jason Michaud was the runner-up, half a straightaway back, while Tim Wilson wrapped up the 2013 championship with his third-place outing. Frank Silva and Richard Ellis tailed the top three to the line, in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Matthew Leach led all 20 laps and held on at the end to score his second win in the Rhonnda Claiborne, Realtor HRKC Pro Winged Champ Kart race. Jeffrey Johnson was second, coming up just inches short at the finish. It was enough, though, to give him the 2013 championship. Points runner-up Aaron Leach was third, followed by Charlie-Ray Lorah and Matt Dail.

Richard Quinn moved out front on the opening circuit and showed the way to his second win in the 30-lap finale for the Bojangles’ Enduros. Alex Floroff was second, four lengths back, followed by Derrick Boggess, who sealed the 2013 championship with a third-place run.