Jason Shultz Rules Selinsgrove Sprint


SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Jason Shultz took the lead on lap four and won his first 360 sprint car race of the season in Saturday night’s 25-lap main event at Selinsgrove Speedway.

For Shultz, it was the 19th 360 sprint car win of his career at Selinsgrove.

Ryan Kissinger flew around the top of the racetrack to take the early sprint car lead, while Shultz grabbed second from the second row. They were followed by Jimmy Stitzel, Colby Womer and Derek Locke in the early laps.

Ryan Stillwaggon spun in turn three, bringing out the yellow flag on lap three.

Shultz dove under Kissinger for the lead, but Kissinger powered his way back to the front down the backstretch. Going into turn one on the following lap, Schultz made the same move but was able to clear Kissinger for the top spot.

“I was really uncomfortable on the restart and was just hanging on.” Schultz said. “It was a little better once I got out front, but Ryan (Kissinger) was really pressing.”

Lap eight saw Colby Womer slow on the speedway, bringing out the caution again.

Shultz and Kissinger raced the next lap side by side, but Stitzel spun in the second turn again slowing the field. The restarts allowed Chad Layton and last week’s winner Kyle Reinhardt to enter the top five.

Derek Locke found some speed on the restart, and on lap 10 took over the runner up position.

By the midway point, Shultz held a second and a half lead, while the battle was on for second between Kissinger, Locke and Layton when Locke and Layton got together and spun on the front stretch.

With the two front runners going to the rear, Davie Franek and Adam Carberry slid into third and fourth. Reinhardt and Cody Keller quickly got by Carberry for fourth and fifth.

Franek pressured Kissinger and got by him for second on lap 21, but was not able to challenge the high-flying Schultz, who won by 2.86 seconds over Franek, Kissinger, Keller and Carberry.

Jeff Rine of Danville was victorious for the 109th time in his career at the track in the 25-lap super late model feature.

Shultz and Rine both collected $2,000 for their victories in the second week of action this season at the speedway.

Defending pro stock champion Kyle Bachman of Selinsgrove won the 15-lap pro stock race.  It was his 51st win in the division and his 62nd win overall at the track

Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek added his name to drivers that have won on the fifth-mile Selinsgrove Raceway Park inner oval and on the big half mile, picking up the 12-lap roadrunner race with a last lap pass.

The finish:

Jason Shultz, Davie Franek, Ryan Kissinger, Cody Keller, Adam Carberry, Chad Layton, Kyle Reinhardt, Chad Miller, Jake Hummel, Ryan Stillwaggon, Derek Locke, Michael Walter, Jimmy Stitzel, Colby Womer, Thomas Radivoy.