It’s All Covert At Hagerstown


HAGERSTOWN, Md. – Jason Covert added another trophy to his collection following his overall fourth triumph of the Red Nininger Memorial Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model event at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol on Saturday.

Covert powered past Nick Dickson on a fifth-lap restart and later sped past the checkered flag with a 6.359-second advantage over Dickson for his fourth win of the season and 15th at Hagerstown, which was worth $2,700.

“This is a fantastic night,” Covert said. “Thanks to the crew for helping get the car back together. I was trying to win last night and got into the wall a little bit. Thanks to Glenn (Nininger) and everything the family has done for racing. He means a lot to this sport, especially in this area.”

Bobby Beard posted the triumph in the Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman feature. Although not a weekly regular, it was his first since July 2005.

Darrin Younker held off Mike Corbin to add his name to the K.Lynn Management Pure Stock winners list. Gary Proctor, roared back into victory lane for the sixth time in the Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, while Ryan Laye returned from the mechanical problems the previous week to score his eighth win in the Cochran Auctioneers Four Cylinder feature.

Jim Crocker won the Classic Racing Series victory over Matt Wallace.

The finish:

Jason Covert; Nick Dickson; Roy Deese Jr.; .C.S. Fitzgerald; Jamie Lathroum; .Trevor Feathers; Dylan Yoder; Gary Stuhler; Steve Axtell Jr.; Andy Anderson; Marvin Winters; Jason Miller; Randy Burkholder; Devin Friese; Wayne Johnson; Tim Wilson; Jacob Burdette; Tony Crim; .Coleby Frye; Kenny Moreland; Larry Baer; Rick Hulson; Frankie Plessinger

Previous articleReam Jr. Claims ASCS Southwest Win
Next articleWOO: Beaver Dam Raceway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.