Humblet Stars At Langley


HAMPTON, Va. — Jimmy Humblet posted his fourth and fifth victories of the season with a sweep of the O’Reilly Auto Parts Twin 30s for the Modifieds, the featured events of Saturday evening’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

In the first event, Humblet snagged the lead from pole-sitter Robbie Babb on lap 18 and drove on to a four-length win. Babb was second to the line, followed by Anthony Kincaid, Danny Harrell and Matt Slye.

In the second race, which was extended to 33 laps to accommodate a “green-white-checkered” finish, Humblet led all the way from the pole to complete the sweep. Harrell was second, four lengths back, while Scott Lawrence, Chris Humblet and Lauren Edgerton completed the top five.

The Mod Twins were hard-hitting affairs, featuring a total of nine caution flags — five in the first race and four more in the second. By the end of the night, nine of the 14 original starters had been relegated to the sidelines.

Mark Claar battled past Robbie Parker off the final corner to notch his first win in the Pepsi Grand Stock feature, which was extended from 40 to 41 laps by a late yellow flag. Ricky Derrick led the first eight laps from the pole before surrendering the lead to Ritchie German, who paced laps 9-39. A caution flag on lap 40 set up a green-white-checkered sprint to the finish.

On the last restart, Parker nosed ahead of German to take the lead as the white flag waved. On the final lap, Claar bypassed German and went after Parker, ducking low on the backstretch. Exiting turn four, with the checkers in sight, Claar and Parker locked horns. As Claar headed to the stripe, Parker looped his machine and smacked the inside wall at the flagstand. In the final rundown, Claar was the winner, followed by German, Bobby Spivey, Parker and Derrick.

Landon Florian picked up his third and fourth wins with a sweep of Twin 20s for the Standard Welding Pro Sixes. In the opener, Florian moved out front on lap 9 and led the rest of the way, finishing half a straightaway ahead of Cody Carlton. Bobby Hall, fast qualifier T.J. Guthrie and Travis Wall completed the top five.

In the nightcap, Florian started from the pole and led flag-to-flag, beating Guthrie by half a straightaway. Hall, Carlton and Wall were third, fourth and fifth, respectively. Jesse Jones IV grabbed the lead for good on lap 23 and scored his first win in the 25-lap Carroll’s Automotive UCAR race. Thomas Marks posted a season-best second-place finish, while Jon Largena, Michael Waters and Richard Ellis rounded out the top five.

Matthew Dail was awarded his first victory in the 20-lap Rhonnda Claiborne, Realtor HRKC Pro Winged Champ Kart race when the apparent winner, Amanda Frye, failed to clear the post-race inspection. Angela-Marie Steele was second in the amended finishing order, followed by Jeffrey Johnson, Josh Ayer and Charlie-Ray Lorah.



Previous articleMeitzler Masters Grandview
Next articleEast Bay Finally Beats Mother Nature is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.