Hoover Bags Micro Sprint All Star Go


SELINSGROVE, Pa. – The Sixth Annual Blaise Alexander Ford/Salem RV Center Roger Spencer Memorial All Star Championship Race for 270 micro sprint cars could not have been scripted any better as far as tribute races go on Sunday night at Selinsgrove Raceway Park.

Todd Hoover of Mt. Pleasant Mills earned the pole position for the start of the 35-lap main event and wired the field for a close victory in the No. 911 car that was driven the first part of this season by his good friend Roger Spencer of Montgomery, who died of an apparent heart attack on June 8, 2012, while competing in the micro sprint car feature at Selinsgrove.

Ironically, the car was formerly owned and raced by Hoover during his 2011 championship season. Spencer bought the car from Hoover during the off-season and won the 2012 season opener for micro sprint cars on April 6.

Out of a 45-car field, Jessica Miller of Sunbury was the night’s Bud Godek Auto Body fast qualifier with a lap time of 11.789. Jarid Kunkle of Kutztown won the Wash Zone Dash for Cash.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will kick off Speed Weekend for go karts at 7 p.m. this Friday, Sept. 28.

At the start of the main event, polesitter Todd Hoover powered into the lead and was chased by second-place starter Mike Rutherford. By the fourth lap, seventh-place starter Brayden Winters was racing in the third position.

On the fifth circuit, 16th-place starter Nick Aucker flipped his racer in turn one. Aucker escaped injury. After two attempts to restart lap six, Hoover continued to set the pace in front of Rutherford. In the next several laps, Winters pressured Rutherford for the runner-up position.

Just before a fuel stop was taken on lap 13, 11th-place starter Richie Hartman passed Winters for third. At the halfway point of the race, the top three of Hoover, Rutherford, and Hartman broke away from the pack.

In the final 10 laps, Rutherford reeled in Hoover and made every attempt to pass Hoover for the lead. Lap after lap, Hoover protected the lead and went on to post a mere .79 of a second margin of victory for his second career win in the All Star race. Rutherford settled for second, while Winters, Nick Skias, and Ed Kenderdine rounded out the top five.