Hoffman Secures Dog Hollow Modified Score


STRONGSTOWN, Pa. – Following a nearly two hour rain delay, Dog Hollow Speedway was able to get another historic event in the record books, as the BRP Modified Tour brought the big-block modifieds to Dog Hollow Speedway for the first time and with Kevin Hoffman finding victory lane.

Other winners on Coy’s Store and Pizza night were Billy Dietrich, who came from sixth to win his second 410 sprint feature of the season, while Roger Irvine picked up this third Precise Racing Products Racesaver 305 sprint feature. David George took a win in the first-ever appearance of the PA Vintage Modifieds.

After an hour and a half rain delay the track crew went to work and got the track back in shape for the Open Wheel Madness show.

The BRP Modified Tour 25-lap feature was first up. Fifth starting Kevin Hoffman overpowered early leader Chris Haines on lap four for the lead. Once out front Hoffman began to run away with the lead. Meanwhile tenth starter Brian Weaver was picking his way through the field.

Lap 17 saw Weaver move into second and take off after the high flying Hoffman. Weaver began to reel in the #17H as they negotiated lapped traffic. Weaver had Hoffman in his sights but could not get close enough to pass and settled for a well deserved second.

Hoffman won his career first BRP Modified Tour race. Behind second place Weaver were another pair of New York drivers, Randy Chrysler and Joe Kubiniec with Chris Haines rounding out the top five.

Sixth through tenth were Brad Rapp, Dave Murdick, Jeremiah Shingledecker, Steve Feder and Rex King, Jr. The two qualifying heats were won by JR McGinley and Hoffman.

The 410 Sprints seemed like it was going to be a battle between Bobby Howard and Daryl Stimeling. When the green dropped pole sitter Howard took off and beat Stimeling into turn one. Howard opened up a decent lead when a caution flew on lap 10.

Billy Dietrich got a good restart quickly shot into second before taking the lead on lap 12. Stimeling moved into second on lap 15 but could not catch the super fast #8 of Billy Dietrich.

Three more cautions slowed the pace included one for Jimmy Seger, who went for a series of end over ends on lap 20. Seger was okay. Dietrich raced of for his second 410 Sprint win at Dog Hollow this season making it a perfect sweep.

Stimeling was the runnerup over Dan Kuriger, Jack Sodeman, Jr., Carl Bowser, Bobby Howard, Kevin Schaeffer, Eric Williams, Brandon Matus and Dan Shetler. Taking the heat wins were Russ Sansosti and Stimeling.

Indiana’s Jeff Bacha was looking for his career first in the 305 Sprints.

Bacha led the first ten laps of the 20-lap feature event as he and Roger Irvine battle side by side before contact on lap 11 sent Bacha out over turn four. Irvine took over the lead the Irvona, Pa., driver held off a fast closing Brian Walker to claim his third win this year. Walker came from 12th to get second followed by Greg Dobrosky for his career best finish in the class.

Carl Bowser, Robbie Bartchy, Skip Dougherty, Jeff Taylor, Steve Kenawell, Justin Zap and Jeff Bacha completed the top ten. Walker and Dougherty won the heats.

The Pennsylvania Vintage Modified club made their inaugural visit and winning the 10-lap feature was David George of Leechburg. Scott Covert, Gene Steele, Mark Weigle and Kevin Mohney rounded out the field.