Hodnett Sets Sail At Port Royal


PORT ROYAL, Pa. – Greg Hodnett wired the field for the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night while the stock cars staged exciting racing in the 355 econo late model, xtreme stock and all american outlaw divisions.

Andrew Yoder came from the ninth starting spot to continue his strangle hold on the econo late model division, now having scored all three of the mains contested for the class to date. In the xtreme stocks Bill Powell exchanged the lead with Bob Bussey over the final five laps to come out on top at the finish. In the all american outlaws main Kurt Zimmerman came forward from the ninth spot to take the checkers.

Hodnett drew the pole for the start of the 410 sprint car feature and set sail on the field when the green flag unfurled. He entered the backmarkers on the fifth circuit chased by Curt Stroup and Dave Ely.

Meanwhile, having started ninth in the field, Blane Heimbach was blistering around the bottom groove of the track to be sitting in third when the red flag came out with nine laps scored for a crash by Doug Esh and Logan Wagner. The pair was battling for the fourth spot when they collided and flipped in the fourth turn, escaping injury.

Hodnett had four lapped cars as a buffer between himself and Stroup for the restart and when action resumed he picked up his previous pace at the front. Mike Wagner got by Heimbach and Stroup in one outside swoop on the 11th tour but then began fading as Heimbach took third on lap 12 and then overtook Wagner for second with 12 laps to go.

By that time Hodnett had a half track lead on Heimbach but with the final 16 laps going non stop to the finish Heimbach had to settle for second at the end, some 4.492 seconds behind the winner after driving down the margin to a straightaway at the finish.

Wagner was third followed by 10th starter Rick Lafferty and Dave Ely. Sixth through 10th went to Ryan Taylor, Mike Erdley, Nate Snyder, Steve Buckwalter and Chad Layton.

Heats for the 26-car field went to Dave Hahn, Ely and Wagner with Brock Zearfoss taking the consolation race.

Previous articleWOO: I-96 Speedway
Next articleHot Night, Hotter Racing At Plymouth
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.