Hartnett Grabs Penn Can Mods Feature


SUSQUEHANNA, Pa. – Defending Penn Can Speedway Modified champion Kevin Hartnett held off a hard-charging Dan Pompey to win his fifth feature of the season on Friday night.

In the competitive 602 sportsman division, point leader Ryan Olsommer held off Brian Mady and Marty Bunker for another win to increase his point lead with only one race point race remaining. Butch Green held off a strong field of street stocks to win his third win of the year.

Aaron Bowes continued his hot streak at Penn Can to win the Xcel 600 modified series race. Don Doster was the four cylinder winner with Ted Mills Jr winning in the factory stocks.

Steve Babicek was the early modified leader jumping out in front of Bob Trapper, Mike Loney, and Brian Malcolm. Early cautions kept the field close as the race progressed.

Hartnett made his way to the top five after starting in the ninth starting spot. Hartnett moved into second and pressured Babicek. Hartnett went to the high side of the track trying to make the pass on the leader.

Coming out of turn two on lap nine Hartnett moved to the lead. While all this was happening up front, the man on the move was Dan Pompey. Pompey moved into the top five at the halfway make picking off cars lap after lap.

With five laps remaining, Pompey was on the bumper of Hartnett with Brian Malcolm close behind. Pompey did all he could to make the pass but came up a car length short. Hartnett won his fifth feature of the season followed by Pompey, Malcolm, Joey Colsten, and Billy Thornton.

The finish:

Kevin Hartnett, Dan Pompey, Brian Malcolm, Joey Colsten, Billy Thornton, Nick Rochinski, Al Rudalavage, Mike Schane, Mike Loney, Mike Nagel Jr, Tom McGurrin, Randall Paxton, Ken Titus, Adam MacGeorge, Scott Adams, Bob Trapper, Brad Shaffer, Bryan Batzel, Chris Piasecki, Steve Babicek, Bobby Trapper, Alex Stanton, Tyler Dippel

Previous articleMarquez Storms To 10th MotoGP Pole
Next articleVIDEO: Sammy Swindell Tribute
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.