Hagerstown Brawl Qualifiers Complete


HAGERSTOWN, Md. – All qualifying events for the inaugural Brawl in the Fall presented by Buchanan Auto Park were completed Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway.

The Brawl, with 50 laps of competition, replaces the long running Octoberfest. Heat races for all four divisions were completed under overcast skies and in short sleeve temperatures.

Late models with 36 on hand were first on the track with 2012 Potomac Speedway champion Kenny Moreland, five time Octoberfest winner Gary Stuhler, 2008 Octoberfest winner, Tim McCreadie and Kyle Hardy taking heat wins while Tim Wilson and Dan Stone were the consolation winners.

Nineteen big block modifieds were pitted with Brett Hearn, the seven-time Octoberfest winner, and Matt Sheppard scoring the heat wins.

The 410 sprints were represented with 29 entries as Logan Schuchart, four-time winner Lance Dewease and Blane Heimbach posting heat wins while Daryl Stimeling took the consolation race.

For the first ever appearance of the 358 sprints in the season ending event, 17 were on hand with Ryan Wilson and Mike Bittinger taking the consolation wins.