Haas Wires Williams Grove’s Billy Kimmel Memorial

Cory Haas (39) leads Lucas Wolfe at Williams Grove Speedway. (Dan Demarco photo)

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. — Cory Haas led every circuit to win the Sunday night Williams Grove Speedway Billy Kimmel Memorial 25-lap 410 sprint car feature.

Brandon Rahmer and Haas shared the front row for the start of the feature. Haas was in front in the first corner with fourth-place starter Lucas Wolfe moving into second.

By the fourth lap, Haas had a 10-length advantage.  Within the next two laps, Wolfe narrowed the lead down to three lengths.  During the ninth lap, the lead duo encountered slower traffic.

Haas used the traffic to lengthen his lead over Wolfe.

Wolfe was able to narrow the lead when free of traffic.  Wolfe tried the inside while working traffic.  Haas was able to use the slower cars to strengthen his lead. While the lead duo were in traffic, sixth-place starter Greg Hodnett advanced into third.

The only caution of the event came on the final lap when Anthony Macri’s car drifted to a stop on the front straightaway.

The restart found Haas taking the high line in the first turn with Wolfe on the bottom.  Haas held the lead into the third corner.

Again Wolfe tried the bottom but Haas had the momentum off the fourth turn and crossed the finish line two lengths in front of Wolfe.

Greg Hodnett was third, with Brian Montieth in fourth, and Brandon Rahmer was fifth.

The victory for the York driver is his second of the year at Williams Grove Speedway.  Haas is the first repeat winner in a Williams Grove Speedway handicap race this year.

“We knew we had to win that heat race to have any shot of winning the race,” Haas. “There’s too many good cars and the track is just a little bit too quick.  It is hard to pass.  I saw Lucas there once or twice in lapped cars. Once I cleared lapped cars I felt pretty good.”

Scott Dellinger won the companion super sportsman race.

The finish:

Cory Haas, Lucas Wolfe, Greg Hodnett, Brian Montieth, Brandon Rahmer, Freddie Rahmer, Jim Siegel, Kyle Moody, Kyle Reinhardt, T.J. Stutts, A.J. Flick, Justin Whitall, Anthony Macri, Greg Plank, Troy Fraker, Kody Lehman, Nicole Bower, Justin Borger, Glenndon Forsythe.