Fuller Masters Port Royal Late Model Foes


PORT ROYAL, Pa. – Tim Fuller scored a rich payday at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, besting a 35-car NDRL Northeast late model field with a powerful move by Mason Zeigler for the lead and victory, worth $3,000.

In the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature, Dylan Cisney poured some local flavor into victory lane by holding off Doug Esh for the win as a hometown favorite. In the 355 econo late model division Todd Snook took his first checkers of the season.

Fuller started fifth in the 30-lap NDRL Northeast late model field as Mason Zeigler started on the pole.

Zeigler, a 21-year old gasser who set a new one-lap track record for late models earlier in the night, took control when the race got underway over fourth starter Jared Miley.

The only caution flag of the race unfurled with five laps in the book and the restart saw NDRL Northeast point leader Keith Barbara race into second but fail to challenge Zeigler for the lead. Fuller began coming to life near the halfway point of the race, using the high groove to complete his advances, taking over third from Miley on the 14th tour.

He got by Barbara with 14 laps to go and set his sights on leader Zeigler who was blasting around the bottom of the track. Zeigler then moved up to the top groove as Fuller pulled up on this back bumper but by that time Fuller was into his rhythm and there was only one more spot for him to conquer.

Fuller pulled the trigger on Zeigler with a low dive in the third corner before pulling a slide job to complete the pass after catching the cushion in the fourth turn with 11 laps left. Once in front Fuller entered the backmarkers with seven laps to go and only once did Zeigler get close enough to think about mounting a challenge but after the lapped traffic separated Fuller was again able to jet away, taking his first career Port Royal victory by 1.658 seconds.

Zeigler finished second followed by Miley, Barbara and Dan Stone of Thompson. Sixth through 10th went to Jamie Lathroum, Jason Cover, Mike Lupfer, Tim Wilson and Max Blair. Heats went to Blair, Lathroum, Wilson and Zeigler with Jason Schmidt taking the B Main.

Zeigler set a new one lap track record in qualifications with a time of 18.072 seconds.

Previous articleWOO: I-94 Speedway
Next articleDriver Seriously Injured At Clearfield Oval
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.