Franek Ends Long Selinsgrove Drought


SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Davie Franek scored an impressive win in Saturday night’s 25-lap 360 sprint car feature that was run in record-breaking time at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Franek set a new record for the distance in 8 minutes, 12.08 seconds and in the process earned his first win at the track since 2010.

Driving the Franek Auto Sales No. 28-F, he collected $2,000 for his seventh career 358-360 sprint car victory at the Snyder County half-mile oval and became the third different winner in as many races.

Jim Yoder drove to his first win of the season and the 11th of his career in super late model racing at Selinsgrove in the division’s 25-lap main event. Three late model races have also produced three different winners.

In the 15-lap pro stock feature, Brad Mitch pulled off the “hat trick” with his third straight win, while defending roadrunner champion Brian Johnson won his first 12-lap race of the year.

Polesitter Cody Keller charged into the lead at the start of the sprint car feature. Fourth-place starter and defending champion Jason Shultz powered by Keller for the early lead entering the third turn on the second lap. By the third circuit, seventh-place starter Davie Franek motored his way into the third position. Two laps later, fifth-place starter Brock Zearfoss advanced to third and a close battle unfolded at the front of the pack.

On the 10th lap, the race for the lead heated up, and Franek got underneath Shultz in turn two and then made the winning pass using the outside lane racing off turn four. At the halfway point, Franek was leading Shultz and Zearfoss as ninth-place starter T.J. Stutts and 10th-place starter Mark Smith raced into the top five.

With five laps to go, an exciting battle for second took place between Zearfoss and Shultz, with Zearfoss winning out the position on lap 21. At the finish, Franek was victorious by 3.3 seconds over Zearfoss, Stutts, Shultz, and Smith.

A multi-car crash in turns three and four opened the late model feature. When the race restarted, second-place starter Jim Bernheisel pulled into the lead over polesitter Chad Hollenbeck. On the third circuit, ninth-place starter Jim Yoder used the inside lane through turns three and four to pass Hollenbeck for second.

Yoder made the winning pass by Bernheisel in turn four on lap six. A caution flag on lap nine regrouped the field with Yoder leading Bernheisel, Hollenbeck, seventh-place starter Kenny Trevitz, and 10th-place starter Andy Haus. With 10 laps to race, Yoder started to stretch his lead over Bernheisel as Trevitz showed a lot of speed and moved into the third position.

At the checkered flag, Yoder took the win by 1.6 seconds over Bernheisel, Trevitz, Haus, and 14th-place starter Dylan Yoder.

Following multiple melees that hindered the start of the pro stock feature, original seventh-place starter Brad Mitch horsepowered his way into the early lead and kept his 10M out in front for the distance. Mitch was closely trailed by 14th-place starter AJ Stroup for most of the event.

Fifth-place starter Nathan Long, who was involved in one of the early-race incidents, rebounded into a solid third-place run after a long battle with third-place starter Tommy Slanker. At the finish, Mitch took the checkered flag over Stroup by just one second. Stroup, however, was disqualified in the post-race inspection due to a malfunctioning rev-limiter box.

Long was then credited with second, followed by ninth-place starter Jamin Chapmin, 18th-place starter Kurt Wray, and fourth-place starter Peanut Heintzelman.

Third-place starter Curtis Lawton drove into the lead on the second attempt to start the roadrunner feature. Lawton was chased by eighth-place starter and defending champion Brian Johnson for the first half of the race until Johnson took over the front spot on lap seven.

Johnson won his first race of the season by 2.1 seconds over Lawton, fifth-place starter Keith Bissinger, sixth-place starter Butch Shaffer, and fourth-place starter John Fowler Jr.

Previous articleUSAC SPRINTS: Tri-State Speedway
Next articleWOO: Federated Auto Parts Raceway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.