Francis First Late Model Repeat Winner At Jennerstown


JENNERSTOWN, Pa. – After four different winners visited victory lane in the Martella’s Pharmacies Late Model class at Jennerstown Speedway to open the year, Albert Francis became the first repeat winner of the season on Saturday.

By luck of the draw, Barry Awtey started this week’s event from the front row alongside Zane Ferrell. When the green flag waved Ferrell surrendered the lead from the pole position to Awtey.

On lap two, Francis passed Ferrell for the runner up position. On the third lap Franics made a quick pass on Awtey to become the race leader. Francis, among the youngest competitors in the field, immediately pulled away from Awtey by four car lengths.

In the early laps Jarred Barclay advanced from the eighth starting spot to fourth. Nearing the midpoint of the race a more impressive charge to the front was evident. Joe Maruca, who started 14th, passed Barclay on lap nine.

In the quest for his first win, Maruca then stole third place from Ferrell on lap 13. Maruca’s notable ascent reached a plateau however as the second place car of Awtey was out of reach in the late stages of the event.

At the front of the field Francis continued to put more distance between himself and Awtey.   Francis rebounded from a crash last week to became the first driver to win more than one Jennerstown Late Model event this year.  The race that was contested without a caution flag.

Awtey ended up second, with Maruca gaining 11th positions to finish third. Barclay was fourth and Ferrell was fifth.

Other winners included Anthony Aiello (Stoystown Auto Wreckers Modifieds), Casey Fleegle (Ron’s Collision Center Street Stocks), Dale Kimberly (Farmers Union Co-Op Chargers) and Michael Strouse (Somerset Trust Company Fast ‘n Furious 4-Cylinders).

Round two of the Ron’s Collision Center Enduro Series was completed after the races, with Josh Dunmyer and Nick Niemiec victorious.