Four Take Victories At Linda’s


JONESTOWN, Pa. – Devin Harron has had some bad luck this season in the RTS Chassis-sponsored 270 Sprints.

Last week Harron did not even qualify for the main event, but he rebounded this week with his 4th career Linda’s Speedway win moving him into a tie for 27th on the all time win list.

Harron dedicated the win to his crewman and friend Ryan McFadden, whose father passed away July 17. Harron had some threats on the last two restarts with Kenny Miller and Josh Stoyer pressuring. Stoyer battled with Miller enough for Harron to pull away. Miller grabbed his career best second place finish at the track.

The Eash’s Towing Chargers ran from the lead off spot Friday night and ran the first twelve laps of their event green before a yellow flag re-stacked the field. Troy Hostetter led until the yellow where he would have to fend off Leroy Long and Rich Bossinger in a charge to the finish. Hostetter and Long tangled last week and collected Bossinger. This week there would be no wreck and Hostetter would run to the flag with Long in chase.

Rob Vivona led the first four laps of the Hoosier Tire Wingless Sprint feature. Eric Whitby made a daring move around the outside of Vivona in turns 1&2 to take the race lead on the fifth circuit. Whitby would hold off the challenges of Vivona on a couple of restarts on his way to his first career Linda’s Speedway Wingless Sprint win.

The Modifieds rolled onto the racetrack Friday night in the fourth night of the 2014 Poker Series. Mike Burrows was in a prime spot to be the first repeat winner of the Poker Series but he would soon feel some pressure from defending champion Richie Hitzler who moved into second.

The battle became fierce after a lap eight restart when third place running Aaron Bowes made a three wide move on the start to take the lead away from Hitzler and Burrows. Hitzler quickly recovered to hold down second while Burrows dropped to fourth with Ryan Higgs slipping by. Bowes would go the rest of the way in front for the win. It is Bowes fourth win of the season. Hitzler came across in second.

The finish:

Eric Whitby, Steve Whary,  Rob Vivona, PJ Williams, Steve Bull, Austin Bishop, Barry Shearer, John Casazza, Kayla Stoltzfus,  Jessica Weiss, Ryan Groff,  Jacob Severn, Frankie Peters, Dylan Binkley, Justin Schraden, Jason Swavely,  Mike Fillbrunn, Mike Rutherford, Ron Lewis, Bruce Ginther Jr, Kenny Murray

Previous articleHearn Rules Lebanon Valley
Next articleLong Sprints At Devil’s Bowl is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.