Fenton Scores In Clearfield


CLEARFIELD, Pa. – America’s Motorsports Park had a beautiful evening for racing Saturday as Speedy the Clown started things off in the center of the front straightaway with his crazy jokes and hilarious antics.

Besides Speedy, two other drivers visited AMP victory lane for their first time. Lester Hudson in the Quigley’s Pub Pure Stocks and Justin Williamson in the Clearfield County Metals Front Wheel Drive Four Cylinders.

Repeat winners included Denny Fenton in the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models, Jake Shady in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates, and Jamie Price in the Harter and Son’s Garage Street Stocks.

Lester Hedson and Jim Challingsworth led the 12 car field of Quigley’s Pub Pure Stocks to the green flag with Hudson grabbing the lead and setting sail. Challingsworth would run 2nd until lap four when eighth place starter Colton Joiner moved by and set his sights on Hudson. Hudson had a strong lead and would not be denied his first AMP win. The top five at the finish were Hudson, Joiner, Eric Lucas, Hunter McCracken, and Challingsworth. Heat wins went to Joiner and Chad Ramsey.

Second on the grid were the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models with Denny Fenton and Bill Davis on the front row Fenton jumped to the lead at the drop of the green flag and would have Luke Hoffner within Striking distance the entire 25 Laps. Hoffner tried every line possible but Fenton would hold on for his second win of 2013. The top five at the finish were Fenton, Hoffner, Davis, Dwayne Taneyhill, and Tom Decker Jr,. Heat Race wins went to Duane Stiner, Tom Decker Jr, and Dan Gill.

Jamie Price and Bob Rosman led the field to the green Harter and Son’s Garage Street Stock Feature. Price would jump to the lead with Rosman and Tim Fannin in Tow. On lap three Fannin cleared Rosman and Focused on the Rear Bumper of Prices No. 137. Fannin would pull with in a few Car Lengths but at the end it was Price, followed by Fannin, Johnny Lindenpitz, Curtis Teats, and Rosman completeing the top five. Heat Race winners were Emory Rinehart Jr. and Linenpitz.

The Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders were up next and they did what they do best, once again, and that is bring excitement. At the drop of the green flag the front row was Bill Hassenplug and Stephanie Ivory, but 3rd place starting, newcomer Justin Williamson would lead lap one with Ivory and Bryan Warren in the chase. Lap six saw eighth Place Starting Charles Stallman move into third and 17th Starting Josh Frantz move into fourth.

Stallman and Frantz would over take Ivory for second on lap eight and try to catch Williamsons Subaru. Their battle for second however left williamson pull away and seal the victory! Frantz would win the battle for 2nd, with Stallman third and Aaron Luzier and Bryan Warren completing the top five. Heat Race wins went to Luzier and Stallman.

The final feature event of the night would be the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates. Jake Shady and Dylan Fenton lead the field to the green with Shady Taking the lead entering turn one. Shady would lead lap one with fourth place starter Denny Fenton moving into second. As the field completed lap four, last weeks winner and eighth place starter John Eckenrod would move into third. A few late race cautions would set up a two-lap dash for cash but Shady had a strong car and would seal his second win of 2013. Fenton, Eckenrond, Jason Mullen and Randy Sterling completed the top five. Sterling and Fenton split the heat races.

Previous articleBowman Gets First At Attica
Next articleLayton & Parker Tame Port Royal
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.