Falk Takes Hampton Heat 200 Again


HAMPTON, Va. – C.E. Falk took the lead on lap 112 and showed the way to the checkered flag, winning the Seventh Annual Hampton Heat 200 for the ComServe/Verizon Wireless Late Model Stock Cars, the headlining event of Saturday evening’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

For Falk, a four-time track champ, the $10,000 victory was his first at Langley this season and his third in the 200. He also won the event in 2010 and 2011.Matt Waltz started on the pole, at 88.482 mph, and paced the first 98 circuits.

Langley newcomer Deac McCaskill shared the front row with Waltz and ran second until giving way to Nick Smith on lap 41.
Meanwhile, Falk, who started 13th on the massive 37-car grid, was steadily working toward the front. He cracked the top five on lap 73.

The remainder of the event was punctuated by six caution flags, bringing the race total to 10. Among the drivers snared in the carnage were Waltz and Smith. They ended up 26th and 30th, in that order, in the final rundown.

On each restart, Falk had to contend with Dillon Bassett, currently top-ranked in NASCAR’s North Carolina state standings.
Nearing the finish, the faceoffs between Falk and Bassett grew more and more physical, but Falk held onto the lead.

The finish:

C.E. Falk,  Danny Edwards Jr., Greg Edwards, Peyton Sellers, Matt Bowling, Brandon Gdovic, Dillon Bassett, Deac McCaskill, Brenden Queen, Mark Wertz, Woody Howard, Austin Thaxton, Justin Carroll, Dalton Sargeant, Chris Johnson, Kaz Grala, Brandon Brown, Gray Gaulding, Casey Wyatt, Jeff Shiflett, Devon Amos, Brayton Haws, Robert Bruce, Eddie Johnson, Mackena Bell, Matt Waltz, Michael Hardin, Paige Decker, Brandon Butler,  Nick Smith, Duane Shreeves, Nick Leitz, Terry Carroll, Josh Oakley, Dude Gibbs, Tyler Ankrum, Connor Hall

Previous articleVIDEO: Final Laps, NNS At Indianapolis
Next articleBurks Masters Midway
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.