Falk Still The Man At Langley


HAMPTON, Va. — C.E. Falk took the lead on lap 71 and rolled on to the win in the Pomoco Auto Group 150 for the EZ Auto in Newport News Late Model Stock Cars as Langley Speedway kicked off its 63rd NASCAR Whelen All-American Series season on Saturday night.

Nick Smith set a new division record in qualifying (92.990 mph) and led the first 70 circuits from the pole.

Falk, meanwhile, lined up fifth on the grid and moved into third in the early going. On lap 53, one lap after a restart, he grabbed the runner-up spot from 2012 champ Greg Edwards.

As Falk slipped by Edwards, Smith extended his lead to five lengths. Soon, though, Falk had tracked him down and began hunting for an opening. Falk got his opportunity on lap 71, poking a fender underneath Smith off turn two and motoring ahead at the end of the backstretch. Six laps later, Edwards rooted Smith aside in turn one and took over second, while Smith fell to fifth.

Falk and Edwards ran first and second until lap 114 when Smith regained the runner-up spot, soon after a restart. The shuffle allowed Falk to pad his lead to six lengths. The last of the race’s five caution flags appeared on lap 125. Back under green, at lap 135, Smith pressured Falk for a handful of circuits before the leader began to ease away.

In the closing laps, Edwards moved up to challenge Smith as Falk enjoyed a smooth sail to the checkers. At the finish, Falk was the winner by 0.564-second over Smith. Edwards was third, followed by Late Model newcomer Brenden Queen and Casey Wyatt.

John Pereira held off a race-long challenge from Randy Akers to notch the win in a 40-lap contest for the Butterfoss & Barton Orthodontics Super Streets.

Robbie Davis led from pole (79.035 mph, a new record) to checkers to win a 25-lapper for the Larry King Law Super Trucks.

Brad Hancock, who set a new qualifying record (82.249 mph), led 24 of 25 laps to win the Cycle City Corp. INEX Legends race.

Tim Wilson set a new division record in Carroll’s Automotive UCAR qualifying (74.078 mph), then backed it up with a wire-to-wire win in the 26-lap feature.

Maddy Mulligan moved out front on the second circuit and scored the win in a 15-lapper for the Xtreme Mechanical Service INEX Bandoleros.