Edwards Sails To Langley Accolades


HAMPTON, Va. — Greg Edwards surged into the lead on lap 96 and cruised to his third victory in the Courtyard by Marriott 125 for the EZ Auto in Newport News Late Model Stock Cars, the featured event of Saturday evening’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

Matt Waltz started on the pole, at 90.723 mph, but gave way to Nick Smith at the end of laps one through five. Coming around to complete lap five, Smith bobbled a bit off turn four and Waltz rallied, swiping the top spot on lap six. Waltz showed the way for laps six through 95, while Smith and Edwards dueled for the runner-up spot in his mirror.

On the restart following the third caution flag, at lap 96, Smith opted to launch from the outside lane, alongside the leader. Smith and Waltz went door-to-door until they reached turn four. Preparing to exit the corner, they scuffled and skittered up the track, opening the low groove for Edwards, who roared past.

As Waltz and Smith gathered their machines, Edwards pulled away by five car-lengths. Over the closing circuits, Waltz was only able to trim a couple lengths from the leader’s advantage as Edwards motored to the win. Casey Wyatt was third to the line, while Smith and Dean Shiflett rounded out the top five.

Ricky Derrick grabbed the lead on the opening circuit and strolled to his first win in the 40-lap Pepsi Grand Stock feature. Robbie Parker, second to Derrick in the division standings, was the runner-up, a car-length back. Carl Livingston, Ritchie German and Jamie Sample tailed the lead duo to the checkers.

Wheeling a backup machine, Robbie Davis bagged his ninth win in the 25-lap Larry King Law Super Truck race, taking the lead on lap seven. Fast qualifier Chase McAdams was second, a truck-length back, followed by Bill Wallace, Michael Waters and Corey Bress.

Tim Wilson moved out front for good on lap 14 and led the way to his fourth win in the 25-lap Carroll’s Automotive UCAR race. Jason Michaud was the runner-up, two lengths back, followed Richard Ellis, Justin Fuller and pole starter Jesse Jones IV.

Aaron Leach led all the way from the pole for his second victory in a 20-lapper for the Rhonnda Claiborne, Realtor HRKC Pro Winged Champ Karts. Matthew Leach provided a dependable drafting push for his younger brother and finished second. Jeffrey Johnson was third, while Angela-Marie Steele and Charlie-Ray Lorah completed the top five.

Ryleigh Lemonds regained the lead on lap 12 and rolled to her second win in the 15-lap season finale for the Xtreme Mechanical Service INEX Bandoleros. Maddy Mulligan was second, four lengths back, and claimed the championship. Trevor Wells, who led laps 8-11, was third, followed by Bradley Wilson and Andrew Fortin.