Dietz Controls Trail-Way Sprint


HANOVER, Pa. – Chase Dietz hasn’t forgotten how to win at Trail-Way Speedway.

Making his first 358 sprint car start at Trail-Way and first run the Michael Markey No. 31, the 2012 Trail-Way 600cc micro-sprint champ started on the front row and led every lap of the 25-lap feature Friday night.

“This is a heck-of-a way to get back to victory lane,” said Dietz. “This is the first time I’ve raced at Trail-Way since 2012.”

“I thought Chase was the best driver to put in the car,” said car owner Markey, “Looks like I was right.”

“We weren’t very good in the heat race,” said Dietz. “But we pulled the wing back and it ran great in the feature.”


Dietz grabbed the lead from polesitter Cody Fletcher at the outset, and despite mid-race pressure from third-starting Isaac Sneeringer, he was never headed.  Sneeringer held off a late charge from Robbie Kendall to finish second, with Brad McCelland and Seth Kearchner completing the top five.

Brad Weber claimed the win in the 20-lap 600cc micro-sprint feature. Weber started fourth and caught lady driver Cheyenne Topper for the lead on lap 12, one lap before Topper spun after contact with David Holbrook while battling for second in turns three and four. Holbrook chased Weber the rest of the way and finished second, with Jim Young, Shawn Seifert, and Alyson Dietz (sister to 358 sprint winner Chase) completing the top five.

Dan Furman came from eighth starting spot to win the 20-lap street stock feature. Furman took the lead from polesitter Jeremy Stremmel on lap 12 and led the rest of the way. Matt Chronister won for the second straight week in the 15-lap limited stock feature.