Derrick Stars At Langley


HAMPTON, Va. — Ricky Derrick put an exclamation point on his fourth straight Pepsi Grand Stock championship, posting his seventh win of the season in the 4CDL/Thomas Nelson Community College 40, the featured event of Saturday evening’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

Derrick started on the pole, at 77.939 mph, and grabbed the early lead. On lap 21, Robbie Parker muscled underneath Derrick in Turn 4. The two went door-to-door until lap 23 when Parker pulled ahead.

Derrick followed in Parker’s tire tracks until lap 32 when he poked a fender under the leader. Derrick and Parker dueled side-by-side until lap 35 when Derrick surged ahead for good. At the finish, Derrick was the winner by almost two lengths over Parker. Mark Claar was third, followed by Tommy Sweeney and Joe Britt.

Troy Turnage took the lead on lap 21 and paced the final five circuits for his fourth victory in the 25-lap Larry King Law Super Truck race. Tommy Nixon, who led laps 1-20 from the pole, rallied from a wreck to salvage second. Chris Munger, David Millard and Chase McAdams completed the top five. Points leader Robbie Davis was eliminated in an accident and finished eighth. It was enough, though, to give him the division title by six points over Turnage.

Nick Smith capped an undefeated season with his seventh win in the 25-lap Cycle City Corp. INEX Legends race, wrapping up the championship. Woody Howard held down the second spot throughout the contest and ventured to the outside of Smith in Turn 4 on the last lap.

The bid cost Howard a few car-lengths, though, as Smith sped on to a four-length win. Chris Raiford nearly overtook Howard at the line, but had to settle for third. Brenden Queen and Cameron Patrick rounded out the top five.

Denver Alvis regained the top spot on lap 23 and rolled to his first win in the 25-lap UCAR race. Tim Wilson, who swiped the lead on a restart at lap 22, was second, followed by Bill Eaker, who will carry a commanding points lead into next week’s finale. Jason Michaud and Jon Largena were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Landon Florian survived a late brush with a slower machine and held on for his third win in the 30-lap Standard Welding Pro Six feature. Casey Sipe started on the pole and led the first 21 laps as Florian worked forward from his fifth starting spot. On lap 22, Florian took over the lead. Two laps later, though, he collided with J.B. Sipe in Turn 2, doing serious damage to the right-front corner of his car. Casey Sipe got the worst of the exchange, dropping from second to fourth. Steve Williams, the new second-place runner, closed in on Florian over the waning circuits, but fell a couple lengths short at the checkers. Nelson Moody was third, followed by Casey Sipe and Bobby Hall.

Ryleigh Lemonds and Madyson Mulligan split a pair of 20-lappers for the Xtreme Mechanical Service INEX Bandoleros. In the opener, Lemonds followed up a record-setting qualifying effort (67.079 mph) with a flag-to-flag run to the checkers for her fourth win. Mulligan was second, holding off Lexi Perry. Kaleb Jusino and Bradley Wilson were fourth and fifth, in that order. In the second race, Mulligan nipped Lemonds by 30-thousandths of a second for her first victory. Lemonds was in command when she spun in Turn 4 on lap 13. Mulligan assumed the lead and held on for the win. Jusino, Perry and Wilson tailed Mulligan and Lemonds to the line. With the first- and second-place outings, Lemonds wrapped up the 2012 division championship.

Richard Quinn notched his third win in the 40-lap season-ender for the Cook’s Moving Service Enduros, taking the lead on lap 26. At the end, he won by nearly three-quarters of a lap over Robert Perry. An unfavorable pill draw buried points leader Alex Floroff in the 10th starting spot. He made his way to a third-place finish, though, sealing the division title. Larry Drommerhausen and Jesse Jones were fourth and fifth to the checkers.