Christine Heats Up Susquehanna


NEWBERRYTOWN, Pa. – Randy Christine Jr. claimed his first Late Model win of the season at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Saturday Night.

Randy Zechman took his first win in the Street Stock 20 lapper. Patrick McClane wired the field to win the 20-lap Xtreme Stock Car feature. The 15-lap Road Warrior feature was won by Daryl Sipe for the second week in a row. Zakari Kitner claimed the 10-lap Mini Van feature. Aaron Brommer continued his two year win streak collecting the 12-lap PENNMAR Vintage Car feature. Shawn Crunkilton was the Figure 8 feature winner in the night capper.

Christine started on the pole position and grabbed the early lead over Billy Wampler and Steve Billet. A brief yellow bunched up the field on lap three. On the restart, Christine continued to set the pace with Wampler and Billet staying no more than three car lengths behind the leader.

On lap 14, J.R. Rodriguez moved into third place and set his sights on the top two cars. As Wampler and Rodriguez battled for the runner-up spot, Christine was able to extend his lead to a half straightaway. At the finish, Christine took his first checkers of the season.

Wampler held off Rodriguez to claim the runner-up spot. Billet finished fourth with Chris Knopp rounding out the top five.

Randy Zechman grabbed the early lead of the 20-lap Street Stock feature from the pole position and was immediately challenged by Gary Potts for the top spot with Nick Bloom in third. A brief yellow on lap eight regrouped the field behind Zechman.

On the restart, Zechman continued his lead with Potts retiring from the race on lap 12, putting Nick Bloom into the second spot. Bloom got by Zechman with three to go but Zechman powered back by on the next circuit. Zechman continued on for his first win of the season with Bloom settling for a very respectable second place finish.

Jasen Geesaman started at the rear and made a last lap pass to claim third place over Mike Walls. Jim Palm Jr. rounded out the top five. Zechman and Nick Bloom were heat race victors.

The 20-lap Xtreme Stock Car feature event had Patrick McClane lead the first lap, the last lap and ebery lap in between to win his first of the season. Donnie Broderick finished in second, followed by Johnny Palm. Chad Stine and Davey Nester came in fourth and fifth respectively. The heat race winner was Patrick McClane.

Daryl Sipe took the lead on the start with Curt McDade taking the lead on lap 12. Sipe battled back into the lead on lap 13 and never looked back to take the victory. McDade settled for second followed Ricky Weaver Jr. in third. Jeff Foster and Julio Perez finished fourth and fifth respectively.

In a very spirited 10-lap Mini Van feature, Zakari Kitner took the lead on lap seven and led to the finish over Donny Groff. Jeremy Haines came across the line third with John Kitner following in fourth.

In the 12-lap PENNMAR Vintage Car feature, Aaron Brommer took the win over Scott Rickrode. Brian Gagliardo finished third with Andy Hockenberry and Paul Bacchus rounding out the top five. Brommer was the heat race victor.

Previous articleBusch & Reed To Test V8 Supercar
Next articleCrash Can’t Slow Down Gemmill is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.