Campbell Gets On The Board At Trail-Way


HANOVER, Pa. – One week after spinning while leading with less than two laps to go, 15-year-old rookie Matt Campbell claimed his first career “358” sprint car win the 25-lap feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“We used last week as a learning experience,” said a jubilant Campbell upon exiting his Harrington Body Shop/Envirobase High Performance/PPG No. 16 in victory lane. “I’ve been working my whole life to get better, and I’ve been waiting so long for this.”

Campbell started second and followed polesitter and race-long leader Shane Hoff for the first 16 laps before Hoff lost a rear end and came to a sudden stop in front of the rest of the field in turn two of lap 17. The rest of the field got by safely, and Campbell assumed the lead for the restart.

Isaac Sneeringer, who started seventh, pulled onto Campbell’s back bumper for the restart, but was never able to mount a serious challenge, crossing 1.59 seconds behind the winner.

Lapped traffic was the only concern for the former go-kart driver who started racing at the age of five.

“I’ve seen a lot of great drivers get crossed up by lapped traffic,” said Campbell, “So I was pretty much focused on that.”

Cris Eash was third for the 17th-lap restart, but he pulled into the infield on lap 19, handing third over to Tim Wagaman, who finished there and gained valuable points on the night. The defending champ entered the night fourth in points, but point leader Jeff Rohrbaugh sustained front suspension damage on the original start and went to the pits, Brad McClelland (second in points) lost a bearing in his motor after winning his heat, and Eash dropped out on lap 19.

Eleventh-starting Austin Hogue and hard charger Dwight Leppo (who started 13th) completed the top five. Sixth through tenth were Cody Fletcher, Seth Kearchner, Mike Duncan, Jr., Randy Whisler and Doug Deeds.

Heats for the 17 “358” sprinters were won by McClelland and Eash.

Brandon Little started on the pole and led all 21 laps in the Lyle Adcock Memorial for Classic Cars.

Little’s only issue was with lapped traffic until a 19th-lap caution put four other top runners onto his back bumper for the late restart.

Little held off 10th-starting Kurt Welsh, eighth-starting Joe Snodgrass, 12th-starting Pete Neal, and points leader Matt Wallace over the final two laps for the win.

Qualifiers for the 16 Classic Cars were won by Little and Roland Brown.

Dan Furman raced to his third win of the year in the 20-lap street stock feature. He raced side-by-side with teammate Craig Wagaman from laps seven through 10, taking the lead just before Wagaman dropped to the infield with smoke pouring from the car.

Furman then drove away to a 5.78-second win over Larry Landis, with point leader Bill Foster coming from the back to finish third. Completing the top five were Michael Goodwin and Timothy Hahn.

Heats for the 13 street stocks were won by Furman and Jeremy Stremmel.

Twin features for the ACMS 600cc micro-sprints were won by teammates Lance Yeager and Alyssa Rowe.

Yeager started on the pole and dominated the first feature, with Scott Garman and Rowe crossing second and third.

Rowe started on the outside of the front row and dominated the second feature, establishing a 12-lap track record of 3:40.96 in the process. Yeager and Garman rounded out the top three.

Previous articleChampionship Night At Marshalltown
Next articleKorte Rolls At Tri-City is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.