Bridgeport Recognizes 2012 Track Champs


SWEDESBORO, N.J. – At a packed Bridgeport Fire Hall in Logan Township, NJ, Bridgeport Speedway crowned champions for the 2012 season on Saturday.

Doug and Gena Hoffman hosted the very well attended affair. Champions and top finishers from Friday and Saturday night racing divisions were honored in front of the crowd.

Rick Laubach from Hellertown, Pa., went home with several big awards. Early on, Laubach received his trophy and point fund money for winning the 2012 Big Block Modified title. Richie Pratt, Jr. finished second in the championship chase with veteran Jimmy Horton winding up in third. Eric Kormann and Ryan Watt rounded out the top five.

Mike Barone, Matt Harrell, Ron Roberts, Mike Franz, and Jesse Hill completed the top 10. For having the best hand of three Kings (three second place finishes) in the Big Block Modified Poker Series, Laubach returned to receive an additional $2500 for his effort. Horton won $1,500 for the second best hand with a pair of Tens and Barone received $1000 for the third best hand of two Fives. A $1,000 prize was handed to Kormann for the worst hand.

The Crate Sportsmen title for 2012 was formally given to Ryan Anderson. Matt Budd edged Brett Kressley in the final tally by a mere five points to finish in second. Tommy Beamer and rookie Ricky DiEva filled out the top five. Travis Hill, Brad Roberts, Mike Cogdill, CJ Jones, and Brett Kelly rounded out the top ten.

With three victories (Aces) in the Crate Sportsmen Poker Series, Travis Hill won $1,500 for the best hand. Budd’s three Jacks was good for the second hand prize of $1000 and Anderson’s third best hand of two pair garnered him an additional $500. Tommy Beamer’s worst hand was worth $500.

Veteran Outlaw Stock Car racer Jeff Dirkes claimed his first Outlaw Stock Car championship after a year-long battle with second place finishing Terry Griffin. Tom Boehlert nipped Anthony DiBenedetto for third and Russell Wurst wound up in fifth. The remaining top ten was completed by Jimmy Hughes, Ron Dirkes, Jeremy Doerr, Kate Raively, and Bob Dooley.

In the 600cc Micro-Sprint division, Bill Thomas took home his 2012 championship trophy. Second place was awarded to Richie Keller with Jon Keller taking third. Stephen Kemery finished in fourth and Lee Nardelli wound up in fifth.

Justin Stillwagon was honored with the 270cc Micro-Sprint crown after his four point advantage over Charlie Lamanna in the championship chase. Veteran competitor John Blanda placed third in the final standings with Richie Keller and Joe Dopke completing the top five.

In the 4-Cylinder Class, the 2012 title was awarded to Mike Dunn with Art Knapp receiving second place honors.

Chuck Sayres from Jones Racing Products was on hand to dole out several awards. Jesse Hill won the True Performance award in the Big Block Modified class while Brett Kressley received the Crate Sportsmen Standout Award. Jeff Dirkes, Terry Griffin and Cheri LaClaire each took home the Outlaw Performance Package Award. In addition, several specialty awards across multiple racing divisions were presented during the evening.

Previous articleNew Bradford Now Sanctioned By RUSH
Next articleEhret Porsche Survives Thunderhill Run
Adam Fenwick
Adam Fenwick is the Associate Editor of and SPEED SPORT Magazine. Both a writer and photographer, you can find him at race tracks across the Southeast covering anything from asphalt late models to dirt sprint cars.