Babb Tames Langley Speedway


HAMPTON, Va. – Robbie Babb led all 60 laps to pick up his first two wins of the season, sweeping the Courtyard by Marriott Twin 30s for the Larry King Law Modifieds, the headlining events of Saturday’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

Babb started the opener from the pole, at 86.914 mph, sharing the front row with points leader Shawn Balluzzo.


The race was red-flagged for a scary-looking incident as Chris Humblet spun on the backstretch, then absorbed a wicked hit from Kevin Adams. The field was stopped while safety workers carefully removed Adams from his battered car.

On the ensuing restart, Jimmy Humblet swiped the second spot from Balluzzo.

While Balluzzo hounded Humblet, Babb opened a five-length lead. Nearing the finish, though, slower traffic came into play and Humblet narrowed the gap.

At the finish, Babb won by two lengths over Humblet. Balluzzo, Danny Harrell and Jon Largena rounded out the top five.

Babb’s win in the first race earned him the pole for the second one.

Babb and Humblet ran 1-2 for the first 22 circuits. Balluzzo, meanwhile, pitted during the parade laps and had to fight his way from the back of the pack. He moved into third on lap 14.

Balluzzo stayed within striking distance until lap 28 when Babb suddenly opened a three-length edge.

Balluzzo tried to rally over the last couple of laps, but came up a car-length short at the line as Babb held on to finish off the sweep.
Humblet was third, followed by Harrell and Wayne Hartley.

Jamie Sample took the lead for good on lap 23 and show the way to his first win in the 40-lap Pepsi Grand Stock feature.

Bobby Hall overcame a poor qualifying effort and nabbed his third win in the 30-lap Pro Six race, taking the lead on lap 10.

Pole-sitter Justin Fuller regained the lead on lap 10 and sailed to his fifth victory in the 25-lap Carroll?s Automotive UCAR race.

Jake Harberts slipped past Tommy Jackson Jr. on the white-flag circuit and scored his first win in a 20-lapper for the Rhonnda Claiborne, Realtor HRKC Pro Winged Champ Karts.

The finish:

Robbie Babb; Jimmy Humblet;  Shawn Balluzzo; Danny Harrell; Jon Largena;  Matt Carter; Wayne Hartley; Taylor Sarkees; Evan Horne;  Darrell Vance; Rick Gdovic;  Jack Sharkey;  Bobby Gery; Curtis Hughes;  Scott Lawrence; Chris Humblet;  Kevin Adams;  Eric McPherson; Donnie Holston

Previous articleHenderson Escapes With Knoxville Win
Next articleBusy Night At 141 Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.