Babb Does The Job At Langley


HAMPTON, Va. — Robbie Babb set a new division record in time trials, 90.799 mph, then led all 60 laps to sweep the Pepsi Twin 30s for the Modifieds, the headlining events of Saturday evening’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

In the first event, Babb grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag and wired the field. Jimmy Humblet advanced from third to second on the start and held down the runner-up position throughout the event. Heading into the final 10 laps, Humblet closed to within a car-length of Babb as the leader sorted his way past slower traffic. On lap 21, though, the traffic worked against Humblet as Babb broke free and began to pull away. At the finish, Babb’s winning margin had grown to six lengths. Humblet was second, followed by Matt Slye, Shawn Balluzzo and Danny Harrell. By virtue of his win in the opener, Babb started the nightcap from the pole. That was all the advantage he needed as he stormed to his second win of the evening. Balluzzo moved into second place on a restart at lap 16, but couldn’t overtake Babb, who pulled away by as much as half a straightaway. With two laps to go, traffic came into play and Balluzzo closed to within a couple car-lengths of the leader’s bumper. Balluzzo would get no closer, however, as Babb motored on to the win. Humblet was third, followed by Slye and Harrell.

Starting third, Robbie Parker emerged from a scramble on the opening circuit and sailed to the victory in the 40-lap Pepsi Grand Stock race. Defending champ Ricky Derrick moved up from the ninth starting spot, taking over second place on lap 17. By then, however, Parker had fashioned a half-straightaway advantage. Despite a couple bouts with slower traffic during the second half of the event, Parker maintained a firm grip on the lead, winning by nearly half a straightaway. Derrick was the runner-up, followed by Tommy Sweeney. Pole-sitter Brandon Hinson, who set a new division record in qualifying, 81.383 mph, ended up fourth, while Ritchie German came home in fifth.

Cody Carlton made a successful debut in the Standard Welding Pro Six divison, picking up the win in the 30-lap feature event. Nelson Moody set a new divison record in qualifying, 85.838 mph, and led the first 21 laps. He was felled by mechanical problems on lap 22, however, passing the lead to Carlton. 2012 champ Landon Florian made up a half-straightaway deficit over the last seven laps and pulled to the outside of Carlton on the white flag lap. He slipped in Turn 4, though, as Carlton dashed on to the finish. Casey Sipe tailed Carlton and Florian to the stripe, in third, followed by Bobby Hall and Ricky Derrick.

Jeffrey Johnson swiped the lead from Jonathan Mullett on the 19th circuit and showed the way to the checkers in the 20-lap Rhonnda Claiborne, Realtor HRKC Pro Winged Champ Kart feature. Mullett was second at the finish, followed by Aaron Leach, Matthew Leach and Charlie-Ray Lorah.

Richard Quinn took the lead on lap 24 and rolled to victory in a 30-lapper for the Bojangles’ Enduros.




Previous articleWilliams Secures VMS Triumph
Next articleSix Winners At East Bay is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.