Applefest Weekend Continues At Tri-City


FRANKLIN, Pa. – The Applefest Race Weekend at Tri-City Raceway Park continued on Saturday night, with qualifying and preliminary heat races for seven different divisions in preparation for the big event on Sunday.

The fastest qualifier for the Shawgo Real Estate sprint car division was third-generation driver Sye Lynch, from Worthington, Pa.

Following all the preliminary racing to determine Sunday’s starting lineups, a makeup feature for the sprint cars was contested. Carl Bowser drove to victory, in the event which had been postponed from Aug. 23.

Lynch’s qualifying time of 15.419 seconds was best among the Shawgo Real Estate sprint car division. Sye’s father and grandfather are both winners at Tri-City.

Second generation driver George Hobaugh Jr. was the second fastest timer, with a lap of 15.431 seconds. Two-time 2020 winner Brandon Spithaler set a time of 15.478 to become the third quickest.

Heat race winners were Darrin Gallagher, 2020 feature winner A.J. Flick, and championship leader Jack Sodeman Jr.

Sunday, the sprinters will race a 30-lap feature event paying $5,000 to the winner.

The postponed 25-lap Shawgo Real Estate sprint car feature from Aug. 23rd, was completed quickly Saturday night and Bowser became only the second driver to win more than once at Tri-City in 2020, joining Spithaler as a two-time victor.

Spithaler finished in second place with Sodeman Jr. crossing the finish line third. Dan Shetler placed fourth and 2020 winner Brandon Matus finished fifth.

Sodeman Jr. enters the Sunday season finale with a six point lead over Spithaler in the quest to earn the title of Tri-City champion.

The Big Block Modified division of race cars set the starting lineup for their $4,000-to-win, 30-lap Sunday feature with a pair of preliminary Heat Races.

Rick Regalski was a heat race winner for the second time in two visits to Tri-City this year, defeating Ohio veteran Rex King Sr.

The second heat race was won by Garrett Krummert, who held off New York’s Erick Rudolph. The big block modifieds made only one previous visit to Tri-City in 2020, and the winner was Ohio’s Jim Rasey, who placed third in his heat race.

The small block modified division completed a trio of heat races on Saturday night, to establish the starting grid for Sunday’s 30-lap $4,000-to-win main event.

New Yorkers Ryan Susice and Erick Rudolph each won a prelim, and home-track driver Ryan Riffe topped a heat race for the second time in 2020.

The Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Pro Stock heat race winners were Chris Schneider, Doug Iorio, II, and 2020 feature winner Noah Brunell. Brunell also won a special “Dash Race” for the division.

Sunday’s feature race pays $2,250 to the winner and is 50 laps in distance.

The RUSH non-wing Sprint Cars, sponsored by Bruce Smith Construction, will compete in a 20-lap feature on Sunday, with $1,000 paid to the winner.

Veteran Gale Ruth, Jr. and Zach Morrow won the preliminary heat races on Saturday night.

Garrett Krummert doubled up on Saturday night, winning the heat race for the Crate-Engined Modified division, as well his big block modified heat race win.

The 4-Your-Car-Connection Mini Stock division heat races were won by 2020 champion Dillon Speer and Bill Fuchs.

Sunday’s event also includes a fireworks display after the races, closing out the 2020 season in style. Grand prize drawings will be held, using ticket stubs from the entire year.

Fans are encouraged to bring all 2020 ticket stubs on Sunday, as winners must be present and have matching ticket stub numbers in hand to claim prizes.

Gates open at 2 p.m. with racing to begin at 4 p.m.

Only qualified cars will be permitted to compete on Sunday. No new cars will be permitted to race by showing up for Sunday only.