AMP Wraps Up 2013 Points Season


CLEARFIELD, Pa. – America’s Motorsports Park completed its first regular season of racing as the points action concluded Saturday night. Two more shows remain on the 2013 schedule.

New winners included Alex Bright, wbo won the 600 Micro Sprint main hot off an ARDC win at Williams Grove Speedway the night before. Johnny Lindenpitz won the Harter and Sons Street Stock main and Paul Ivory won the Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders.

Repeat winners included Mike Blose in the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models, Jake Shady in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates and Jason Beichner in the Quigley’s Pub Pure Stocks.

The 2013 point champions are: Luke Hoffner in the Late Models, Denny Fenton in the Semi Lates, Tim Fannin in the Street Stocks, Cody Hummel in the Pure Stocks and Bryan Warren in the Four Cylinders.

The Micro Sprints hit the speedway with Shelby Rowles and Shane Penny on the front row, but it was third place starter Alex Bright who took the lead and just drove away from the field. As he was leading, the battle was for second, with Penny, Rowles, Jake Starr and AJ Bast. While they were fighting for second place, Robert Garvey caught the front stretch wall and barrel rolled the #15 down the track. He was out of the race but uninjured.

The restart saw Bright continue to set sail with Penny and Bast now joined by Nick Wood in the battle for second, but when Alan Luzier waved the double checkered flags it was Bright winning with Penny, Bast, Wood and Starr completing the top five. Heat wins went to Starr and Bright.

Dan Gill and Eric Moore led the Late Models to the green flag, but Gill spun in turn one, scattering the field. The complete restart saw Scott Alvetro replace Gill on the front row with Moore taking the lead and Duane Stiner moving into second and Alvetro in third. As they were fighting for the top spot, Mike Blose and Luke Hoffner were headed to the front of the field from mid-pack.

On lap four Blose moved into the lead with a turn three and four pass of Moore and on lap 12 Stiner moved past Moore for second and Hoffner was in hot pursuit of Moore. Stiner pressured Blose until they caught lapped traffic, then Blose pulled away, as Hoffner moved into third on lap 15 and into second on lap 24. While in second, Hoffner could not find the time to challenge Blose. At the finish it was Blose getting his third win of the season over Hoffner, Stiner, Moore and Alvetro. Heat wins went to Hoffner, Blose and Justin Kanouff.

The Semi Late feature was a tough race with a pair of sevens on the front row, with John Eckenrod and Neil Wilson bringing the field to the start, with Eckenrod taking the lead. An opening lap crash with Denny Fenton climbing into the back of Louie Jacoby. Fenton’s car drifted to the infield as the ambulance checked him out and took him back to the pits where he had injured his elbow.

The restart saw Eckenrod continue to lead, with Jacoby in second and Randy Sterling and Jake Shady coming to the front. Eckenrod led until lap 11, when Shady took the lead and started to pull away. Jason Mullen was able to take second away from Eckenrod on lap 18, then he spun in turn one with one lap to go, Eckenrod tried to miss Mullen but made contact with Mulllen’s front end, sending Eckenrod spinning and rolling onto his roof. He was uninjured but out of the race.

The last two laps were led by Shady who went on to win his third straight feature. Devin Goss, Wilson, Sterling and Eckenrod completed the top five. Heat wins went to Fenton and Jacoby.

Johnny Lindenpitz beat Butch Braim off the line to start the Street Stock feature and he wasn’t about to be denied his career first AMP win. While he led, Braim ran second for several laps before Jamie Price moved into second. While he was chasing Lindenpitz, the battle for a title was happening in the middle of the pack, as Tim Fannin was the point leader and Curtis Teats was second and trying to catch and pass the point leader. As the double checkered flags waved it was Lindenpitz winning ahead of Price, Emory Rinehart, Jr., Fannin and Ron Mertz. Heat wins went to Fannin and Teats.

The Pure Stock feature saw Eric Lucas and Colton Joiner on the front row, with Joiner taking the lead and Lucas in second. As Joiner led, eight place starter Jason Beichner was coming to the front and in a quick way. He was up to fourth by the fourth lap and he had his sights on the 1* of Joiner. The fight for second was between Lucas, Beichner, BJ Hudson and Justin Queen as the fight for a title between Cody Hummel and Ben Krause ended early after an altercation sent Krause to the pits.

The race continued with Joiner leading the way, but Beichner was now in second since lap nine. Beichner finally took the lead after a pass in turn four on lap 12. He held off Joiner the rest of the way with Lucas, Queen and Mike Duck completing the top five. Heat wins went to Beichner, Jon Lee and Queen.

Stephanie Lucas and her husband, Mike brought the four cylinders to the start with Stephanie Lucas taking the lead and Jim Kleitches in second. Four place starter Paul Ivory was in second on lap three and he moved into the lead on lap six and set sail. The battle of the Stephanies then ensured with Lucas coming home second, Ivory was third, Mike Lucas was fourth and Bryan Warren was fifth. Warren and Stephanie Ivory split the heats.

Previous articleRamaker Rolls Through Frontier
Next articleBergman Conquers Sooner Region is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.