Adkins & Sandridge Star At VMS


JAMAICA, Va. — Brett Adkins and Brandon Sandridge both capped off their title seasons with wins on Safety-Kleen, Chandler Chevrolet Championship Night at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway.

Adkins picked up the win and championship in the Truckin Thunder Sportsman feature by nipping Junior Carter at the line by .055 seconds and in the Collision One Limited Stock Cars Brandon Sandridge took over the lead from Shawn Otey on lap 16 and went on to take the win.

Also winning 2013 Championships were Justin Williams (Victory Lap Late Models); Jimmy Duncan (Budweiser Modified) and Davis Padula (Fastrak Pro Late Model).

Also getting wins on Championship night were Joe Ender (Victory Lap Late Model) and Mike Reynolds (Budweiser Modified).

In a special $1,000-to-win “Winner Take All” Late Model Shootout Justin Williams used the highside to chase down Troy Williams to take the lead with three to go to take home the cash.

In the Victory Lap Late Model 35 lap feature Joe Ender and Justin Williams led the field to green with Ender taking the lead on the opening circuit. Ender set a torrid pace as the rest of the field battled for second. Williams tried to close the gap in the closing laps as the tow worked lapped traffic but Ender was able to take home the win, his second of the season. Rounding out the top five were Justin Williams, Troy Williams, Tim Shelton and Billy Tucker. Davis Lipscombe picked up the win in Fastrak Pro Late Models.

In the Budweiser Modified 25 lap feature Joey Polevoy took the lead on the opening lap and would set the pace for the first nine laps before spinning and handing the lead over to Bret Hamilton. Hamilton would pace the field for two laps until Mike Reynolds took over the top spot on a lap 11 restart. Once out front Reynolds set sail and went on to take the win. Eric Erwin, Josh Harris, Joey Polevoy and Jimmy Dunca rounded out the top five.

In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25 lap feature Brandon Coates and Hunter Ashworth led the field to green. Ashworth would lead the first lap but would surrender the lead to Junior Carter on the following lap. Once out front it looked as if Carter would run away with the win but Brett Adkins had other ideas. Adkins, with the help of lapped traffic, closed in on Carter over the last five laps of the race. Coming to the checkered flag Adkins dove under Carter they worked traffic out of four and at the line Adkins picked up the win by .055 seconds. Rounding out the top five were Junior Carter, Roger Jamerson, Hunter Shelton and Michael Roop.

In the Collision One Limited Stock Car 20 lap feature Shawn Otey and Ryan Hutchens led the field to green with Otey taking the point. Otey would lead the first 15 laps with Brandon Sandridge in hot pursuit. On lap 15 Sandridfge dove under Otey coming out of turn 2 and took the lead at the line. Sandridge would take the win over Otey, Ben Lowry, Matthew Cook and Ryan Hutchens rounded out the top five.