Adams Controls Thunder on the Farm


HANOVER, Pa. — It was a big night for Grant Adams.

Adams not only claimed the 50-lap second annual Mike Zeigler, Sr. Memorial Thunder on the Farm feature win and the $2,121 that went with it, but also secured the Lincoln/Trail-Way Precise Racing Products season-long point championship as well.

Adams assumed the lead when Cam Zeigler brought out the caution while leading on lap 17. At the same time, Randy Stoudt dropped from the race while running second, handing the lead over to third-place Adams. The Glenn’s Towing No. 64 led the rest of the way, crossing in front of a charging Tyler Armstrong, who came from the back twice after an 11th lap spin and a multi-car crash in turn two of lap 33.

“It feels good to be here again,” said Adams in victory lane, “It was unfortunate to have so many cautions and Randy dropping out.”

Fifth-starting Bernie Beard was edged by Armstrong at the line and finished third. Fourth and fifth were 23rd-starting and hard charger Craig Wagaman and Carl Billet.

The race was marred by 16 caution flags, with the final checkered flag of the five-division night coming out at 2:15 a.m.

Sixth through tenth were Pat Beard, 19th-starting Kevin Palmer, Travis Mease, 22nd starting Larry Neiderer, and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Heats for the 25 “358” late models were won by Cam Zeigler, Pat Beard, and Stoudt.

Mike Walls came from 17th starting spot to claim both the 40-lap feature and hard charger award in the street stock division.

Walls took the lead from Jasen Geesaman on lap 27 and crossed a whopping 7.28 seconds ahead of Geesaman. Brian Walls, piloting the #1W of niece Michelle Walls, came from 18th starting spot to cross third, with Pat McNeal and Walt Lemmon completing the top five.

Brian Walls came back to win the 25-lap thundercar feature. Walls started on the outside of the front row and led every lap, crossing 3.87 seconds ahead of Kyle Martin.

Tenth-starting David Prunkl, Jason Townsend, and hard charger Brian Diehl (who started 14th) rounded out the top five.

Terry Hartlaub was the winner of the 15-lap limited stock feature. Hartlaub started third and took the lead from Jason Chronister on lap four. Chronister pulled to the infield four laps later, with 13th-starting Chad Weaver moving into the runner-up spot and finishing second at the end.

Cory Weishaar, Todd Miller, and 12th-starting Jeff Foster completed the top five.

On the fifth feature of the night, a 21A car landed in victory lane.

Pat McClane came from seventh starting spot to claim the win in the 25-lap Extreme Stock feature. McClane passed Dan Furman on lap 13 and led the rest of the way, with Furman crossing second, tenth-starting and hard charger Chad Stine finish third, 11th-starting Joe Racine fourth, and David Goode fifth.