5 Winners At VMS


JAMAICA, Va. — What looked to be a cold and rainy day turned out to be a great night for racing at Virginia Motor Speedway for WRAR / WNNT Night and the opening night of Virginia Army National Guard Dirt Series action.

Taking home wins were Justin Williams (Victory Lap Late Models), Walker Arthur (Aaron’s Pro Late Models), Matt Quade (Budweiser Modifieds), Hunter Shelton (Truckin Thunder Sportsman) and Andrew Torbox (Collision One Limited Stock Cars).

In the Victory Lap Late Model 35 lap feature Billy Hubbard and Anthony Kincaid led the field to green with Hubbard taking the top spot on the drop of the green flag. Hubbard would go unchallenged until lap nine when defending champion Justin Williams would begin to work on Hubbard for the lead. The two raced side by side for the next two laps before Williams took over the top spot. On the next circuit Williams would get into a lapped car and the ensuing spin collected both Hubbard and Walker Arthur sending both to the infield. On the restart Troy Williams would rocket away from the field and looked like his was on his way to the win that is until Justin Williams began his charge back to the front. With the laps winding down Justin Williams would get up on the cushion and reel in the leader. On lap 28 Troy Williams made a slight mistake in turn two allowing Justin Williams to get to his inside and take over the top spot. Once out front Justin Williams would go on to take the win followed by Troy Williams, John Staton, Anthony Kincaid and Petie Coffey rounding out the top five.

In the first race for the Aaron’s Pro Late Models Neal Hudgins and Paul McGinley led the field to green with the field getting three wide right out the gate. Caution would come out necessitating a complete restart. On the restart McGinley would get a better start and grab the lead out of turn two. On lap three Walker Arthur rocketed to the inside of McGinley to take over the top spot. Arthur would work out to a sizeable lead while Daniel Baggerly worked his way to second. Once in the runner-up spot Baggerly set out to catch Arthur. Baggerly would pull to within a couple of car lengths but that was a close as he could get as Arthur would go on to collect the checkers with Baggerly, McGinley, Davis Lipscombe and Hudgins rounding out the top five.

The Budweiser Modified 25-lap feature may have been the most exciting race of the night as Matt Marshall, Jimmy Duncan and Matt Quade battled door to door for much of the feature. Joey Polevoy and Marshall led the field to green with Marshall jumping out to the lead. For the first 12 laps Duncan shadowed Marshall until he could finally get to his inside on lap 10. On lap 12 he finally took the lead but only by inches over Marshall. Marshall would take the lead back on the next circuit and would race door to door with Duncan over the top spot on lap 18. Not to be outdone Matt Quade made his way past Marshall and set out to catch Duncan. On 22 Quade got inside Duncan as the two exited turn 2. They raced side by side for the next two laps until Duncan bobbled in turn 2 on the final lap allowing Qaude to go on to the win followed by Duncan, Joey Polevoy, Matt Marshall and Rayn Toole rounding out the top five.


In the caution-filled Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25-lap feature Hunter Shelton used an inside move on then leader Davey Pullen to take over the lead. The multiple cautions were the only thing that allowed the rest of the field to get close to Shelton and he dominated the event for the win. Rookie Jeremiah Marshall, Brett Adkins, Macy Causey and James Bunn rounded out the top five.

In the Collision One Limited Stock 20-lap feature defending champion Brandon Sandridge used a three wide pass in traffic to take the lead and go on to a sizeable lead. But on the white flag Sandridge would blow a right rear tire going down the backstretch. Sandridge tried to stay out front but as the field came to the checkered flag rookie Andrew Torbox was able to sneak by for his career victory. Brian Bradley, Brandon Sandridge, James Givens with a flat left front and Ben Lowry rounded out the top five.



Previous articleWOO: Devil’s Bowl Speedway 2
Next articleF-1: Chinese Grand Prix
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.