250 Cars Qualify At Lernerville


SARVER, Pa. — Two hundred and fifty cars overflowed the pits once again for the fourth annual DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede at Lernerville Speedway Friday.

The beautiful Indian Summer moved out early evening to give way to a crisp, breezy night of racing, but the action on the track was plenty hot enough to keep the finest race fans in the world warm and entertained!

The Precise Late Models rolled out first with Chris Rhodes taking the first heat race win over Sarver/Freeport drivers Ken Schaltenbrand and Dan Swartzlander. 2010/2011 Track Champion Dave Hess Jr. passed early leader Doug Eck to win heat two. Russ King took the checkers in heat three over Garrett Krummert, while 2012 Track Champion Jared Miley won a stacked heat after a great battle with early leader John Garvin Jr.

Brandon Matus took the quick lead at the drop of the green flag for the first of two Ti22 Sprint heats, but Jack Sodeman Jr. picked up the win over Brandon and his dad Brent. Behind them was a fierce battle a trio of former Track Champions in Danny Holtgraver, Dale Blaney and Ed Lynch Jr. Danny Smith won the second heat race of Cory Good and Danny’s son David Smith.

The BRP Tour finale began with three heat races of with New York invaders Justin Wright and Brian Weaver scoring wins along with rising star Brad Rapp.

The Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman/Stocks bragged the biggest car count with 51 in competition! Heat races were claimed by Rusty Moore, Chris Schneider, Rusty Martz, Chris Withers and Pat Weldon.

The FASTRAK Northeast Late Models boasted a 44 car field with heat races going to Chad Wright, Ricky Meglaye, Ryan Montgomery, Chad Ruhlman and Rocky Kugel.

Steve Dixon, Randy Hall and “Double Duty” Dave Hess Jr. won heat races in the UMP/UEMS Modifieds. CJ Jones and Jeff Goodman Jr. won 305 Sprint heats, Daniel Jackson and Kenny White won 4-Cylinder heats and Alan Knepper won a wild one in the Mod-Lites heat.