Meeuwsen Tops Berlin Winners


The Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman rolled next with Steve Thompson and Jared Miller on the front row of the 25-lap feature. Thompson had the early lead, but he did that the No. 1 of Randy Veldman right on his back bumper. Veldman took the lead on lap seven and he was immediately challenged by Miller on the inside. Miller took the lead on lap 10 and that left Veldman to try and hold off Brian Thome for second.

Thome was under fire from Dave Cutler and Gerry Shepard, they both got by him and Veldman was inching closer to Miller. With Cutler challenging Veldman for second, Miller was able to get some breathing room. Miller went on to get his first-ever win and the rest of the top ten were Veldman, Cutler, Shepard, Thome, Kirk Meissner, Tyler Nawrocki, Scott Root, Shawn Simon and Thompson.

The Port City Racecars Outlaw Late Models were the final feature of the night for the 60-lap second annual Lee Anderson Memorial. The No. 32 of Ross Meeuwsen and Phil Bozell started on the front row. Before they could get down to racing, the caution came out when the No. 40 of Jamison Russell spun off of the backstretch on lap one.

After the field was restarted, Meeuwsen took off with the lead and pulled away from the field. Bozell and Johnny Benson were battling for third and it was Terry VanHaitsma, Steve Needles and Lee VanDyk mixing it up for fourth. While Benson was passing Bozell for second, Meeuwsen was caught the tail of the field and began putting cars a lap down. Benson was slowing reeling Meeuwsen in as they were heading in to heavy traffic again.

The second caution of the race came out on lap 29 when Monte Tolan spun coming in to turn four. This erased Meeuwsen’s lead, but it didn’t take him long to stretch it out again once the field was restarted. The leaders were back in traffic with 15 laps to go. On lap 54, VanHaitsma had caught Benson and he was looking second, but Benson was holding strong on the inside lane. Meeuwsen came down to take the checkered flag, it would be a tight battle for second with Benson, VanHaitsma and Thomas will the lapped car of Andy Bozell in the mix.

With Meeuwsen on his way to victory lane, Benson took second and the rest of the top ten were VanHaitsma, Tom Thomas, Steve Needles, Phil Bozell, Scott Thomas, Brian Maxim, Ray Clay and Leroy Magoon.