Lauritzen Among Marshalltown Winners


Brandon Williams snuck by Hildreth on the restart and went on to take the win despite a late race caution on lap 15. Ben Kates came home in the runner-up, Ryan Ashton in third, Geoff Olson was fourth and Jared Van Deest in fifth.

Eric Stanton grabbed the lead in the Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Hobby Stock feature and despite a caution on lap one and four it appeared to be heading on the win until Nick Murty chased him down. Stanton and Murty race wheel to wheel the last four laps but it was Stanton holding off challenges until the last lap. Murty made the pass on the last lap to take the win and Stanton finished second. Garrett Eilander, Eric Larson and Austin Luellen rounded out the top five.

The Amsoil IMCA Stock Car Feature saw Derek Reimer grab the lead from his second row outside starting position and appeared to be cruising on to the win before the caution waved on lap seven.

On the restart, Jay Schmidt grabbed the lead and had to deal with four more cautions on laps 10, 13, 15 and 16. Schmidt was able to hold of challenges for Reimer, Steve Meyer and Tracy Gienger. Meyer got second, Reimer was third, Tracy Gienger was fourth and Eric Knutson was fifth.

The final feature of the night was the Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feautre and it was Scott Simatovich grabbing the early lead. Simatovich lead until Ronn Lauritzen worked his way through the field from his eighth place starting position and grab the lead on lap six.

The only thing that slowed down Lauritzen was the caution on lap seven. Lauritzen went on to take his second win of the season at MoTown. Racer Hulin worked his way from seventh to second. Zach Rawlins, Kyle Brown and Jon Snyder finished third through fifth.

Previous articleCzarapata Cashes In At Luxemburg
Next articleWOO: LaSalle Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.