Kern Won’t Be Denied At Dodge City


Ryan Heger outlasted fellow title contender and defending track champion Austin Allen to earn a sixth-place finish, with the three-point gain for that position opening his advantage to just 4 points with three events remaining.

Entering the night just 13 points out of the lead, Cole Traugott was ahead of both Heger and Allen in the feature when his title hopes were essentially eliminated after getting collected by Van Gemmill in a turn three fracas on the ninth round that collected several other cars.

While Woodward, Oklahoma’s Jeff Kaup gridded the 20-lap IMCA Sport Modified feature outside the fourth row, Brian May led from the pole position for the opening circuit before Randle McRoberts squeezed by on the low side.

With McRoberts slipping away from the field, Kaup worked his way up to third by the ninth lap and then made his way past May for second on the 12th circuit.

Kaup whittled away at McRoberts’ lead in short order, closing in on his rear bumper on the 15th lap and then slipping underneath on the backstretch to take command on the 16th circuit.

Kaup opened up a half straightaway advantage over the closing circuits to take his third win of the year despite losing his brakes after a lap four caution. McRoberts took runner-up honors with Josh Appel claiming the show position. Clay Money and May rounded out the top five.

In the 15-lap IMCA Stock Car feature, Lamar, Colorado’s Angel Munoz battled past Randy Dowell for the lead then held off Perry Misner’s advances over the final pair of rounds for his second DCRP score of the year.

With Munoz out front, points leader Misner moved up to second and closed in on the leader. Looking for his fifth DCRP triumph of the year, Misner caught Munoz with two laps to go and looked high and low, only to fall a car-length short at the line.

Munoz and Misner were chased to the stripe by Dowell with Michael Pepper and Brandon Fisher in the top five.

Just six nights after a throttle bolt cost him an apparent victory, Sonny O’Hair rebounded by wiring the field in the 15-lap Thunder Car feature for his second win of the year.

O’Hair advanced from third to first on the opening lap and maintained command throughout, taking the checkered flag ahead of Matt O’Hair with Cody Davis and Dan Rogers in third and fourth. Will Bauer rallied from a lap seven altercation that sent him tailback to maintain a slim points lead with a fifth-place finish.