Johnson Masters Dodge City Field


After surviving an opening lap melee that eliminated a handful of cars, Troy Gemmill raced on to his second 20-lap IMCA Modified feature win of the year at DCRP.

While Gemmill started the feature tenth, the initial attempt was waved off when a car looped it in turn three and collected another half dozen cars.

Back under way, Jared Baird gunned into the lead from the pole position with Gemmill working up to second by the fifth lap. Gemmill reeled in Baird, putting the pressure on and quickly capitalizing when Baird bobbled and opened the door on the low side exiting turn four on the eighth round.

Gemmill checked out and raced on to the checkered flag with a straightaway advantage over Baird with “B” Main winner Kevin Gray claiming the show position. Jesse Smith advanced from “B” Main action as well to earn fourth with Kale Beavers rounding out the top five.

Austin Walker became the first driver to earn three DCRP feature wins in 2013 by holding off a late bid from Clay Sellard in the 20-lap United Wireless IMCA Sport Modified main event.

After starting fifth, Walker made his way past Jason Lunow for the point on the fourth lap. After surviving a string of four cautions in the initial 10 laps, Walker led the way in front of Sellard, who moved into second on the tenth round after starting ninth.

Sellard closed in and pulled alongside Walker as the white flag flew. Walker fought off the bid, edging back into the lead down the backstretch and surging to the checkered flag two car-lengths ahead of Sellard. Matthew Crowell was third, with Bart Baker and Lunow rounding out the top five.

Michael Pepper survived a late caution in the 15-lap IMCA Stock Car feature to become the first repeat winner in nine events.

Pepper climbed from seventh to take the lead away from pole starter Mel Law on the third lap then held off Billy Phelps on the final green-white-checkered run to the stripe to secure the win. After Phelps bid for the win fell short, Matt O’Hair rallied on the final lap to edge Phelps at the line for second with Josh Crombie and Shane Tillery rounding out the top five.

Previous articleJimmy Owens Gets Back On Track
Next articleBorrowed Car Wins For Chandler is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.