Johnson Inherits Dodge City Victory


DODGE CITY, Kan. – C.J. Johnson became the third different Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car winner in as many events after being awarded Saturday night’s 25-lap United Rebel Sprint Series feature victory atop the three-eighths-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

The Quinter, Kan., shoe picked up the win after apparent winner Ray Seemann was unable to successfully complete post-race technical inspection.

While Johnson captured his first DCRP win since topping the 360-ci portion of last July’s Steve King Memorial, Jesse Richter put a stop to Clay Sellard’s run of perfection in IMCA Modifieds, Clay Money captured IMCA Sport Modified honors, Michael Pepper snared his third IMCA Stock Car win of the season and Cody Williams took the top spot in IMCA Hobby Stocks as a total of 120 cars filled the pit area.

After winning his heat race, Lady Luck was on Johnson’s side after starting seventh in the URSS/Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car feature.

With Tracey Hill pacing the early rounds, Johnson was fifth after four laps when defending URSS champ Jake Bubak clipped an infield tire and slid to a stop exiting turn four.

Jeremy Huish slipped by Keefe Hemel on the restart, only to miss the preferred groove several laps later and lose a half-dozen positions.  Hemel did the same thing two laps later, opening the door for Johnson to climb to third behind Hill and Seemann after ten laps.

Getting into traffic, Hill bobbled briefly in turn two on the 14th lap to allow Seemann and Johnson to close in.  The next time around, Hill lost power exiting turn two and came to a stop a half lap later to bring out the second and final caution.

Seemann assumed command on the restart then successfully fought off Johnson’s advances through traffic in the final circuits to get to the checkered flag just two car-lengths ahead of Johnson.  But when Seemann failed post-race technical inspection, Johnson moved up one more spot to take the winner’s share.

Starting alongside Johnson in the fourth row, Zach Blurton worked his way forward as well to earn runner-up honors with current URSS Kansas points leader Jed Werner filling out the podium in third.

J.D. Johnson advanced from 11th to fourth with Taylor Velasquez rounding out the top five.  The rest of the top ten for the 29-car field included Luke Cranston, Keefe Hemel, Koby Walters, Jordan Randles and Huish.

In the 20-lap IMCA Modified main event, Great Bend’s Jesse Richter slipped past Joe Cleveland on the third round then held off some late pressure from Cleveland Cody Gearhart to snare his first DCRP win of the year.

Richter paced the final 18 rounds of the non-stop affair, although Cleveland made one last-ditch effort on the final round.  Working forward from 13 th after winning the “B” Main, Gearhart was up to fifth by the midway point then took third on the white-flag lap before trying to make a move for the win on the final circuit.

Austin Allen crossed the stripe fourth with Dylan Sherfick climbing from 12 th to round out the top five.

Penokee’s Clay Money continued his DCRP success by rallying from 12 th to win the 20-lap IMCA Sport Modified main event.

A winner of two DCRP features last year including the Inaugural Sport Modified Mayhem event, Money needed just nine laps to take the lead away from Matthew Crowell before leading the rest of the way.

Money raced to the stripe ahead of Mike Appel, who held off Jeff Kaup for runner-up honors.  After leading the opening round, Kamren Gruber crossed the stripe fourth with Tristan Barton racing from 13th to round out the top five.

In IMCA Stock Car action, Lakin’s Michael Pepper reeled off his third win in four tries by topping the 20-lapper.

Pepper chased Randy Dowell for nine laps before taking command for keeps at the midway point.  Pepper was chased to the line by Dowell with B.J. Wagoner working his way up to third with Marlin Hogie and Jeff Tubbs rounding out the top five.

In the 20-lap IMCA Hobby Stock main event, Cody Williams made a late move around Matt O’Hair to snare his first DCRP win of the year.

O’Hair gunned into the lead at the outset from the front row outside starting position with Williams into second in short order.  Williams kept the pressure on throughout and took quick advantage of one O’Hair bobble in turn four on the 18th round to take command.

Williams beat O’Hair to the line with Cody Davis, Kyle Pfeifer and Duane Wahrman rounding out the top five.