Johnson Continues Skyline Domination


Young drivers Broughton and Nathan Skaggs held off the challenges of Danny Smith in a run for the top three. After a tail restart, Layfield had worked his way to a top five only to fade to seventh behind a recovering McGlumphy and Josh Davis. Wayne McPeek had a great run going from 16th to 6th, but blew a tire on the 23rd circuit. Jimmy Stinson had a great run going as well, but looped it on the do-over of the 23rd circuit and went pitside.

McGlumphy restarted well to move up two spots, while another hard-charge Kory Crabtree sliced-and-diced to a top ten ahead of veterans Keith Baxter and Dave Dickson. In the Sprints the hard charger was Kory Crabtree moving up nine positions from 17th to 8th. Dickson moved up from 18th to tenth and Layfield 15th to 7th.

During hot laps, Aaron Higgins jumped the cushion and flipped hard numerous times off the backstretch and out of the ball park in turn three. Higgins was momentarily shaken, but uninjured

Rounding out the top ten behind Nier were Broughton, Nathan Skaggs, Danny Smith, Wes McGlumphy, Josh Davis, Andre Layfield, Kory Crabtree, Keith Baxter, and Dave Dickson.

Kenny Johnson is perfect ! At least at Skyline Speedway in 2013. The veteran and defending champion endured 14 laps of heavy resistance from J.P. Roberts. Reflective of the late Model main, the Octane Race Products Modified feature looked to follow the same script.

Roberts, however, bobbled once and that cost him a shot at the roses. Jeremy Berwanger, the “Murray City Bandit” took over second and raced through traffic with Johnson for the next five laps, only to have a charging Robbie Evans take the runner-up slot.

Gary Gould continued his string of good runs, anchoring down fourth after fending off a quartet of challenges from four different drivers. About midway through the race, John Burdette sat up on the wheel and went hammer down, one of only a handful of cars that wondered off the bottom like Johnson. Burdette picked off a car a lap until Gould held off the veteran at the start-finish line for fourth.

Ultimately, Johnson blitzed to his fourth Skyline win of the year and 10th overall.

Roberts recovered to finish sixth ahead of Roberts, Andy Bond, Mike McPherson, Robert Garnes, and Tyler Evans. The top five were Johnson, Evans, Berwanger, Gould, and Burdette, the hard charger in a 12th to 5th place run.