It’s Steffenhagen At Spencer Speedway


WILLIAMSON, N.Y. – The Dave London Memorial was the highlight of Friday’s action at Spencer Speedway.

A record 27 SuperStocks were on hand to run the 50-lapper. Jim Steffenhagen Jr. won his heat race and went into the redraw for the feature lineup. As fate would have it, he drew the outside pole and then went on to lead almost every lap to take the $1,000 feature win.

In Sunoco Modified action Eddie Hawkins won his first ever Spencer Speedway feature holding off first Andy Lewis and then Mike Leaty for the victory. “If you could have seen me right after the race in the pits I almost blew the top off the car,” he related. “I just can’t tell you how happy I am.”

In other support action, Timmy Catalano also won his first Spencer Speedway Four-Cylinder Scorpion feature. Tim Faro came home with the Super Six feature victory and Bryce Norton won the INEX legends feature.

Twenty-six SuperStocks answered the call to the line for the 50-lap Dave London Memorial. Chris Vogler was the early leader; Steffenhagen flew by on the inside on the front stretch just two laps into the race to take the lead.

As the race came into its closing laps Steffenhagen took advantage of a long ten-lap green run and stretched out a fifteen car lead over Freisbye, who was trying to hold off a late race charging Joe Mancuso, who seemed to save his tires for a late race run.

As the checkers flew Steffenhagen took the victory followed by Freisbye Jr., Mancuso, Mudra, and Cheetham. The race lasted over an hour to complete due to the number of yellows.

The Sunoco Modified feature took the green flag with Eddie Hawkins taking the lead, with the Lewis clad in tow; Andy Lewis, Darryl Lewis Jr. and Tim Lewis Jr.

On lap 31, Leaty again took second from Andy Lewis and charged after Hawkins. Hawkins held on for the victory followed by Leaty, Rusty Smith, Andy Lewis and Darryl Lewis Jr. to round out the top five.

In Super Six action Ryan Hillegeer took the early lead in their 20-lap feature, a race that would run green-to-checkers without a yellow flag. Hillegeer was dogged by Brandon Allen, as the two raced side-by-side. On lap eight, Allen was able to pass Hillegeer for the lead. One lap later eventual winner Tim Faro took second from Hillegeer. Faro then went on to take the lead from teammate Allen on lap 15.

On lap 17, Josh Schoonmaker bumped into the 19 of Hillegeer and took third. This action would later lead to a position penalty for Schoonmaker for unnecessary roughness.

Faro took the win followed by Allen Schoonmaker, Van Grant, Brian Hallett and Andy Cocilova.

The finish:

Jim Steffenhagen Jr., Bill Freisbye Jr., Joe Mancuso, Jay Mudra, Terry Cheetham, Dave Fetterly, Mitchell Wright, Nathan Peckham, Joe Miller, Zach Willis, Steve Malin, Matt Lees, Dale Lazzaro, Joe Horvatis, Chris Vogler, Tom Fecteau, Wayne Bernhard, Aaron Higgins, Gary Noe, Tommy Markham, Jay Canonico, Charles Coonrod, Robert Fink, Phil Alhart Jr., Jason Dinzler, Willie Strusz