Ian Madsen Conquers Knoxville Competition


Brown posted quick time on the night as well as winning his heat from the sixth starting spot. Other heat winners included Garner, Hafertepe and Heskin. Lasoski won the B. Bryan Clauson lost a left rear wheel in qualifying and flipped in turn one. He was also uninjured, but done for the night.

With two point shows remaining, there are just 137 points separating first from fifth in the standings.

“I gave everything I had,” said Madsen in victory kane. “I didn’t want to give another one up. When I get around Brian, we start racing pretty hard. I hope he’s not too angry at him. I did chop him. I can’t thank my team enough. It’s definitely, I think, the best team in the Midwest and one of the best in the country. I’m just lucky to drive it.”

The 360 feature went almost without a hitch. Young Josh Baughman shot from the pole to lead Matt Covington and Henderson early on in the 18-lapper. The only caution came on lap five when Alan Ambers slowed to a stop in turn one.

Baughman led Covington, Henderson, Calvin Landis and Nate Van Haaften back to green flag racing. Henderson made quick work of Covington for second at that point, while Landis followed him into third on lap eight.

Baughman continued to lead until lap twelve, when Henderson found his way by for 360 career win number three here. Baughman ran a strong second, ahead of Landis, Van Haaften and Jamie Ball. Joe Beaver, Sheldon Haudenschild, Covington, Jon Agan and Dusty Zomer rounded out the top ten.

Joe Beaver registered quick time on the night over the 40-car field, while Sawyer Phillips, Henderson, Jarrod Schneiderman and Brooke Tatnell won heat races. Tony Bruce Jr. won the B.

“This was a great win,” said Henderson in Victory Lane. “I’m super-happy for this team. I’m just happy to be a part of it. Baughman was running a great race. He was doing a great job. I just enjoy the heck out of running with these guys.”