Dunn Is The Canandaigua Modified Master


“It’s always nice to win on a night when your sponsor is in the VIP booth,” Welch said. “I think the first time I ever did something like this was last year.

“The car was good on the bottom tonight,” Welch added. “Jeremie (Corcoran, CMP promoter) always does a great job in getting this track ready.”

Derek Excell, who ran the first several weeks in the Pure Stock class before moving up to the Street Stock division, finished second. Third was Adam DePuy while Bill Weller, who also won the heat race, finished fourth. Fifth was Jack Terrell.

In Pure Stock action, Wayne Ellison won his third in a row in the 15-lap feature.

Ellison took the lead on lap three and powered on to the victory.

“This is a good problem to have,” Ellison said afterwards. “I was struggling earlier in the season, but we have this thing running good now.”

Ellison also said that he had a lot of incentive to improve his program.

”I had these younger drivers coming up to me and busting my chops a bit,” laughed Ellison. “I guess that gave me a lot of motivation.”

Marc Minutolo was second followed by Mike Minutolo Sr in third. Rounding out the top-five were Ken Cammage in his first finish at CMP and Roger Bush.

Heat race winners were Marc Minutolo and Eric Chapman.

Paul Habeck won his first of the season in the 20-lap Castner Performance 305 Sprints A-Main.

Habeck took the lead on lap 19 after using the outside lane to pass Bob Dreste in going on to the win.

Nick Cooper led the first six laps. Kelly Hebing was looking like she could take the checkered flag home, but was passed by Dreste on lap 16. On a lap 15 restart, Habeck became the fastest driver on the race track, immediately moving from fourth to second and challenging Dreste for the lead.

Dreste held on for second followed by Steve Doell Jr. Rounding out the top-five were points leader Darryl Ruggles and Charlie Donk.

Heat race winners were Darryl Ruggles and Steve Doell Jr.

Tim Barnard and Ray Hendershot were both winners in the Community Car Care of Waterloo New Legends Sportsman division.

Barnard won the 10-lap main that was rescheduled from July 13th. Barnard led all ten laps. Finishing second was Ray Hendershot followed by Tim Goebel. Rounding out the top-five were Bruce Batzel and Parts Plus Street Stock points leader Mike Welch.

Welch ran his first two competitive events in an open-wheel race car on Saturday, also getting sixth-place in the other New Legends Sportsman feature.

In the originally scheduled New Legends Sportsman feature, Ray Hendershot would take the lead from Tim Goebel on lap four and finish 0.351 second ahead of runner-up finisher Tim Barnard when the checkered flag flew.