Donnie Ray Crawford Memorial Begins


Hughes snared the quick lead with Wiseley and Tyler Vandiver in pursuit. A pair of early yellows slowed the progress of most of the field, with the exception of yet another Sand Springs show Tristan Oakes.

Eating alphabet soup, Oakes dismissed the 12 lap C Feature before riding a high side surprise from the back to win the 20 lap B Main on the final lap. Starting 13th, Oakes was poised for another run, working up to 5th just a few laps into the preliminary main event, but was forced pitside under yellow with mechanical woes, ending a crowd pleasing effort from the young racer.

Hughes began to appear invincible as she drove away on each restart. The third and final yellow flew at the midway point for Ryan Hunt’s second loop. Sensing this, Wiseley launched a fairly wicked slider (for winged cars) at the leader, but Hughes rejected his offer and drove off to take the 2nd Annual DRC Memorial prelim score aboard the Sawyer Chassis, Metric Cycles, Lightning Wings, and Mychron Tom supported 777.

Wiseley became embroiled in a late race affair with Tulsa’s Taylor Reimer, with Reimer battling by on the final lap to snare the runner up spot.

Both young ladies now have the option of accepting the Restricted Front Row Challenge presented by CTE Construction Supply. Should they accept the challenge and tag the back of Saturday’s 2nd Annual DRC Memorial Restricted Main Event, each will earn $25 for each position improved, as well as a $500 bonus should they make it back up to the front.

Wiseley held on for honorable third place showing, with Quinton Standlee and Austin Lambert completing the top five finishing order. Ross Racing’s Kaylee Bryson claimed sixth with Tyler Vandiver and Noah Harris closing out the top 8 prelim finishers to lock in to Saturday’s main event.

Jase Randolph, Hughes, Ryan Hunt, and Quinton Standlee each topped heat race action over the 31 car field, with Austin Lambert, Kaylee Bryson, Montana Garrison, and Brendon Wiseley scoring qualifier wins.

Known throughout Port City confines as “The Candyman” Mark Lutz paces the pole position of the 25 lap Sportsman main event with Ken Simmons alongside.

Lutz nabbed the lap 1 lead, but Simmons powered ahead just a circuit later as battles shaped up and intensified throughout the field.

Broken Arrow’s Ryan Cody moved up from the outside 2nd row to track down Simmons, stealing the point on the 8th round

The first caution of the 25 lapper waived for John Stowe’s mishap with an infield tire, giving Simmons and newfound third place pacer (and PCR Sportsman point leader) Craig Carroll opportunity to top Cody.

Cody pulled away as Carroll worked past Simmons for second. Cody reached lapped traffic with five rounds remaining and worked it flawlessly. A caution flew with three laps left, but Cody’s maneuvering in lapped traffic gave him a double dose of lapped cars to buffet his lead over Carroll in the ensuing restart.

Cody skillfully pocketed the final 12 turns to earn the 2nd Annual Donnie Ray Crawford Sportsman prelim win aboard the Skip’s Performance Corner, RC’s Lawn Care, and Factor 1 Racing sponsored no. 7.

Carroll maintained the runner up spot with Ricky Glover blasting up from the 5th row to complete the podium. Simmons and David Doss rounded out the top five with Dave Nicholson transferring from the sole B Feature to claim sixth.

Inaugural DRC Memorial Sportsman titlist Danny Clum advanced from 12th to finish seventh at the line with Charles Corte claiming the 8th and final lock position for Saturday night’s 2nd Annual DRC Memorial Sportsman Main Event.

Ken Simmons, Luke Tipton, and Mark Lutz earned heat race wins over the 21 car field with Ricky Glover Sr., Randy Cody, and Kenny Howard scoring wins in qualifier action.