Cope Grabs Smyrna World Series Finale


NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. – Travis Cope put an end to Kyle Benjamin’s domination at New Smyrna Speedway on the final night of the 47th annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing Saturday evening.

Cope simply outran the field in the 100-lap super late model finale, with Benjamin chasing him across the finish line in second. Bubba Pollard, Dylan Kwasniewski and Steven Wallace completed the top five.

Chuck Hossfeld was the winner of the NASCAR Modified portion of the event, besting Woody Pitkat for the victory. Andy Seuss, Patrick Emerling and Jimmy Zacharias completed the top five.

Brad May (pro late models) and Scott Reeves (pro trucks) were also winners at New Smyrna Saturday.

Champions of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing in 2013 included Ryan Moore (super late model), Pitkat (NASCAR modifieds), Brandon Johnson (pro late models) and Reeves (pro trucks).