Clyne Wins, Gafforini Is Vegas Champ


LAS VEGAS — Chris Clyne won Saturday’s 40-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature on Championship Night at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Defending champion Scott Gafforini clinched an unprecedented fourth Bullring NASCAR Super Late Model title.

Clyne led the feature from start to finish but the 40-lap finale turned into a 10-lap dash as he negotiated heavy lapped traffic on lap 30 as second-place runner Dustin Ash closed in. Clyne held off Ash at the finish to take the win and Dylan Lupton was third. Jay Beasley and David Anderson completed the top five. Gafforini’s car suffered a broken water pump belt and he retired on lap 20.

“These guys are real tough,” said Clyne, whose car numbers were painted pink in recognition of Breast Cancer Awareness Month. “Scott’s (Gafforini) awesome – been racing against him all year. He’s real tough and he really stepped the level up. Ash is good too. But most importantly, I want to dedicate this win to all the mothers out there that have been battling breast cancer. I lost my aunt that way a couple of years ago. I want to support the pink number and the ribbon on the hood. It’s such an amazing cause.

“I wouldn’t be able to race out here if it wasn’t for two guys. John Thomson of Thomson Motorsports – he’s like another dad to me. And Howard of Vegas Machine – we worked our butts off this week trying to get this thing up to snuff.”

“I’d like to thank Vegas Machine for sticking behind me – that’s my only sponsor,” said Gafforini, the Bullring’s only four-time NASCAR Super Late Model champion. “We’ve got some stuff in the works and hopefully we can make everybody proud next year.”

Going into tonight’s races, Caden Carlin and Chris Trickle were tied for first place (700 points each) in the Silver Star Plumbing Bandolero Bandit class. Ivan Gudmestad won the 12-lap feature, followed by Carlin, who clinched the championship. Just one position behind Carlin, in third place, was Trickle, who finished second in the 2012 points battle.

Noah Gragson won the 12-lap Silver Star Plumbing Bandolero Outlaws feature. The win was his ninth of the season and he also claimed the 2012 points championship as well as the rookie of the year title.

The 25-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature was won by Patrick O’Hanley, his fifth of the season. Steve Smith finished second and Robert Ewing was third. Kolleen Dresser and Kayli Barker completed the top five. Eight-lap Super Stock heats were won by Smith and Robert Ewing. James Wingard of N. Las Vegas clinched the Super Stock championship in September and took the night off. His car was driven by Joe Deguevara, who finished ninth.

Jason Kiser won the 25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature ahead of Michael Takami and Nathan Boss. Pete Meyer, the Bullring’s 2012 NASCAR Bomber champion, finished fourth and Wade Pearson was fifth. Eight-lap Bomber heat races were won by Kiser and Dallas Simonette.

Kyle Weatherman won the 25-lap American Band Legend Cars Pro/Master feature. Michael Abbate finished second and Josh Fultz was third. The Legend Cars Pro championship was won by Jason Irwin and Robby Guevara earned the Legend Cars Master title.

The six-car, 20-lap USLCI Thunder Car feature was won by Ron Reed. Joshua Quartaro was second and Brian Reed finished third. Jacob Tilton won the 2012 Thunder Car points championship.

Zane Smith won the 20-lap American Band Legend Cars Semi-Pro/Young Lions feature ahead of Joshua Jackson and Tye Mihocko. Blake Olsen won the 2012 Legend Cars Semi-Pro championship and Joshua Jackson won the Legend Cars Young Lions crown.